We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still one of the best bistros in NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raoul's

Raoul's
Reserve with OpenTable
Raoul's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #599 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: between Sullivan and Thompson Sts.
Transit: N or R to Prince St. C or E to Spring St.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1,453 reviews
815 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Still one of the best bistros in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Soho bistro has aged with beauty. I had one of my first meals here in the mid-eightees. Still with the same owners. Beat that in NYC.A place with a bohemian atmosphere. An eclectic bunch of wine-weathered locals, stylish European tourists and young, model types make up the late-night bar crowd, Stick to the uncomplicated dishes like thick steak au poivre with crispy frites, and fleshy steamed artichokes with thick dipping vinaigrette. This time we joined the bar crowd, the bartender
took nicely care of us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    89
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You'd think you were in Paris but for the noise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

A small, diverse menu of superbly prepared dishes that provides good value for the high quality of the food. Fish, steak and lamb were cooked to perfection. Service was fine, best described as professional but not rushed. A very crowded room with no sound absorbing surfaces makes the noise level deafening. So this is a place to enjoy fine French cuisine, but not a place for conversation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thubner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better the last time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved this place the first time we visited 2 years ago. This time it wasn´t good. We prebooked the table at 9.30pm and were seated at 9.50pm. The food was good but something was missing. Very crowded and very loud.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia_6106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Impossible to get into, but well worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fantastic French bistrot in the heart of SoHo. Staff is knowledgeable, wine list is superb and food is to match. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank world_traveler_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classic and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Raoul's is classic New York. Old school interior, slightly loud, and energetic. The food was outstanding. We had the fish (Dorado) and pasta with truffle oil- both excellent. For dessert, the sticky fig pudding. Yummy!
Great experience - I look forward to our return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PittTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raoul's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Raoul's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing