We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD AND FUN TIME”
Review of Tortilla Flats

Tortilla Flats
Ranked #2,029 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West Village
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
132 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND FUN TIME”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

got there with 2 friends on a monday eve at 6:30 which was perfect as we got a booth inside just 20-30 before the crowd. service was great. guacamole was the best i ever had. chips and salsa 3 times over , 3 pitchers of great margaritas 2 servings of guacamole and three combo meals which we all loved.( $142 before tip ) ( she deserved a good tip and got one )bingo started around 8pm or so and was fun. left around 9pm without being rushed and made to feel at home. found out this place has been here for 30yrs and another 30 yrs is A LOCK !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Huge portions, fun atmoshphere, friendly staff, inexpensive!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ole!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We absolutely love this restaurant! The food is very good and very reasonably priced; and the wait staff are very friendly and helpful (not intrusive). The decor is diner style and kitschy - we loved the Elvis poster and the "home made" art! Music is upbeat and eclectic. The Margaritas were smoooooth and delish - nice and refreshing on a hot NY afternoon! We have been here a couple of times in our visits to NY -- it has become a "must do over"!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you are in the area”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I were exploring and came upon Tortilla Flats. After standing across the street and checking TA, we decided to eat dinner. Tortilla Flats is kind of the old style diner with a unique atmosphere; lots of Christmas lights and stuff hanging all over. The service was good as was the Mexican food. The portions are a good size. I could see how this place could become crowded quickly. We were there during an off time and it was not too busy. I would recommend calling ahead of you are going to make this a destination.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Venue, Terrible Food”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Great for large groups and parties! A lot of fun, they do contests for the party honoree (bday, bachelorette, ect) But the food was really terrible!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lms8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortilla Flats also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing