We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballato's

Ballato's
Ranked #493 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the best Italian restauranrts in NYC. Have eaten there over a dozen times in the past two years and have always been very pleased with the food and the service. Authentic and engaging menu. Also love the looks and the 'feel' of the restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuartg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    36
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gassville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fond memories of A little piece of Italy in NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

One of my best friend and I took her daughter to New York when she turned 15. We were walking around and happened upon this little piece of heaven. Thee bread was crisp and fabulous. The meal...heaven! The chef came and sat with us while we ate, conversed and sipped wine. They brought out cake for Celeste which was a perfect ending to a perfect day and meal. We visited in 2012 and I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and very noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Although the place is beautiful, the choice is poor and very expensive for such tiny portions. Moreover it was so noisy, we couldn't have a conversation and we left the place all stressed-out. The restaurant is not representative of Little Italy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noktambul
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
160 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Can't get this kind of Italian anywhere off the east coast or in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Ballato's was recommended by a friend. This friend's culinary credibility immediately shot to the top of the chart. I've lived on the left coast, where there is seafood, and I live in Santa Fe now, but letmetellyou: you just can't get Italian food that can incorporate sea food like you can at Ballato's, anywhere I've ever been in the USA. We all had fresh lobster with pasta that was cooked in the same water as the lobster. We had the bruschetta with the octopus. No where have I had better.

I've done quite a few reviews and this is only one of a very few where I've checked "one of the best meals ever." It's pricy; worth every euro!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food You've Dreamed Of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The bread alone was worth the trip - fresh, warm, slightly chewy/crunchy crust, texture, flavor...and that was just the beginning. The bean pasta soup and seafood pasta special was out of this world. Regardless of where you are in NY, it's worth a trip to Houston Street to visit this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank isaac t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballato's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ballato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing