We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eccellent food and celebrities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballato's

Ballato's
Ranked #525 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eccellent food and celebrities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Special place with old world italian charm and authentic cooking. Everything was fresh and delicious. Service was first rate. Sat near Bruce Ratner and Katie Lee. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haywood16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    37
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I wanted a warm and delicious Italian experience and that's what I got. The atmosphere was superbe and the food was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank MexicanDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a late lunch at this small Italian restaurant that we found just walking. Outstanding food with the kind of personal service we always hope for but seldom receive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles_Schneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Culinary Orgasm !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Ok to be honest I like good food, and I'm exigent.
I took a simple chiken parma, .. But it was cleraly amazing !
You understand how good it is when you see all the photos of famous artists on the wall, thank warmly the owner (Rhianna, Lionel Richie, Tom Hanks, Johnny Depp... )
You'll not be disapointed !

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perhaps a mistake to go for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch before flying home, the place was empty, but given all the reviews I wanted to go, it was a mistake.
I wanted the meatballs, but the weren't on the menu and we weren't offered them as a special, but some other people came in and they were..after I had finished eating.
I had the ravioli, which was average at best, not al dente and a bit watery.
The food took ages to arrive, which probably meant it was made fresh, but it still took way to long.
Try it for dinner, but don't go for lunch, at least midweek.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank browny0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballato's also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ballato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing