We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light lunch”
Review of Tribeca Grill

Tribeca Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Tribeca Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #318 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: corner of Franklin
Transit: 1 train at Franklin St
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for a quick lunch on my own. It's an open and friendly place, and certainly popular. The salad starter I had was very tasty but the main course shrimp and calamari medley was a little tasteless. I suspect the fish had been frozen but can't swear to it. The waiters could not have been friendlier but I will try some other places before I go back.

Helpful?
Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    368
    138
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Met friends on a Thursday night. Not too difficult to get a late reservation, moderately crowded. Food was very good, and service was decent. I'd call it a safe bet in Tribeca, won't be the best food, service, or scene you'll find, but won't let you down in any of those departments. Overall, good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good Food but very expensive”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a gap of many years, I returned to the Tribeca Grill to host a dinner for a few colleagues. Overall I thought that the quality of food was high. Certainly, everyone was pleased with their selection. However, perhaps not surprisingly, the dinner menu was a lot more expensive than the fixed price lunch option. The wine list, while very comprehensive, was ridiculously expensive. Very few choices could be described as good value for money. Our server tried very hard but she struggled to keep up with the large number of tables she had to look after.

I am certain that if this restaurant wasn't owned by Robert De Niro it would have closed by now. However his name is enough to get people to keep coming. Unless someone else is paying, my advice would be to avoid dinner and stick to the lunch menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What surprised me was the attentive service. I assumed the service would be lacking because of the hype surrounding the restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised. And the food was great too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryanmathison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
305 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a superb lunch here last Friday, which I think was the last day of restaurant week. It was great value just $25 for 3 courses. My partner and I both had roast chicken as a main course and it was cooked to perfection. The puddings here are to die for. The service was very good and we generally loved the ambience and atmosphere of the place. Would highly recommend and will be back next time we're in New York.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribeca Grill also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tribeca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing