We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!!!”
Review of Po

Po
Ranked #1,602 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Bleecker and Sixth Avenue
Transit: Close to the West 4th street station of the ACEBDF. Also close to the 1 train at Christopher street.
Description: Po is an Italian restaurant that offers fresh, simply prepared seasonal fare in a cozy and inviting neighborhood setting.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the cutest place with the best food. Small but the nicest staff and the tastiest food. I had Pasta and the peaches and Gorgonzola salad that was to die for!
Would reccomend this resturant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bernylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    58
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good quality and tasteful”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved it. A little pricey, but great for a special night. It felt airy and bright even though it's so small, but we went early. Food was excellent. I had the mushroom crusted cod.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent, cozy restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stopped at Po for a quick lunch and was not disappointed. I had the egg/broccoli rabe pannini with a glass of wine and my hubby had the octopus dish..both were plentiful and delicious. The staff was very efficient and friendly. I would recommend this cozy restaurant for anyone who wants good, fresh food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dede48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“a wonderful italian in the Village”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent food, small and intimate restaurant smack in the middle of wonderful Cornelia street in the Village. Great and friendly service and very good, simple and freshly prepared tasty food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Deafening Environment”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Normally a responsible restaurant review considers such factors as food, service, value, and ambiance. But what should be said when one of those parameters completely overwhelms the others? You could average them out, or focus on the most pressing criterion. In this review, I'm somewhat reluctantly opting for the latter.

First, the positive. The food here is very good. The white bean bruschetta, although listed on the menu at $2.00, was complimentary and very tasty. The organic green salad, while consisting of the same spring mix that could be bought for very little at a grocery store, was redeemed by a very nice dressing consisting of a flavorful olive oil and a very subtle vinegar. For entrees, the linguini with clams was a good choice, as was the pasta with broccoli and bread crumbs.

So, what's the problem? In short, a totally unacceptable level of noise. If you enjoy standing next to a row of jack hammers, this might be the place for you. But for anyone else, the decibel level emanating from adjacent tables should be a deal-breaker. Even our waiter struggled mightily to hear and be heard over the relentless din.

Service was efficient, although lagging at the beginning and end of our meal. Our bill was not itemized except for two lines: "food" and "wine". We were overcharged for the wine (corrected, without apology, after this mistake was pointed out); I assumed without checking that the food calculation was correct. If this miscalculation had been the only blot on the evening, our overall experience at Po would still have been quite positive.

Unfortunately, however, a potentially enjoyable gastronomic experience can be seriously undermined by a completely out-of-control environmental noise level. So let's be honest. Good food is to be expected when dining at an up-scale restaurant, but it's not the only thing that matters. If other essential factors don't fall into place, then the food ultimately can end up taking a back seat as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po also viewed

 

Been to Po? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing