We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong at Villa Mosconi!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Mosconi

Villa Mosconi
Reserve with OpenTable
Villa Mosconi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,365 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Bleeker St. and Houston St.
Description: Villa Mosconi is a family-run restaurant located in the heart of New York City’s historic Greenwich Village. The restaurant has been serving the same great food under the guidance of the Mosconi family since 1976 at the same location on MacDougal Street between Bleecker and West Houston streets. The restaurant offers superb authentic Northern Italian cuisine that reflects the family’s origins in the Emilia-Romagna region of Italy.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong at Villa Mosconi!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a long time customer at VM, I can say for certain that they do everything to see that you are catered to. They are family style and family to everyone who enters their doors since day one! Old style dining and meals to match with impeccable service. My club has had many events there and we had the most enjoyable meals in New York City!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    30
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
262 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great old world Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a throw back Resturant. The family is engaged in all aspects- they greeted us at the door and had our table ready. The waiter was attentive, the food was excellent and the price was fair. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice little find with great food and good old Italian atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Monte's Trattoria was closed for vacation and they had a sign to go to Villa Mosconi and we were glad they did. Nice little find with great food and good old Italian atmosphere. One tip ask for the room in the back. Very reasonable prices

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonitaNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden treasure in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Villa Mosconi is our go-to Italian restaurant in Manhattan because of its wonderful old-world atmosphere and delicious food. It has the best service of any restaurant I can recall going to. The staff really bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. As for the food, their lemon-wine chicken is exceptional, it's hard to find better marsala sauce, and their pasta dishes are good. Prices are fair for NYC. We are wine lovers and their house Chianti is one of our favorites. Only thing missing is better desserts, but we're normally so full that there's no room for dessert anyway! This is a lovely place to come mid-week when it's quiet; it can get very busy on Saturday night. I very highly recommend Villa Mosconi for a solid, relaxed Italian meal in Manhattan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerbLehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy food, awesome ambiance!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great staff! Our waiter was really helpful and attentive and the staff was all very polite to each other. They were ok with some change ups to our orders. I had the lemon wine chicken, pretty good. The chianti was great! There's a cute back patio section. Definitely ask to be seated there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Mosconi also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Villa Mosconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing