We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gotham Bar & Grill

Gotham Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Gotham Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $150
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 5th Ave + University Place
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street. F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south. 1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I dined here last summer and have been meaning to write a review for ages! What a great place, the atmosphere, design, staff and food; all perfect! Dined with family and everything was faultless. Highlights included choosing wine (sommelier was 5*) and my risotto starter which was heaven and then, on our waitresses advice; the chocolate cake for desert, its been on the menu since the beginning and its easy to see why! Can't wait to return next time I'm in NYC!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBizzKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    347
    106
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My second time at Gotham Bar and Grill, the first time left me wanting for more so I came back almost 3 years later.

Loved it! From the moment you walk in, you know you're somewhere special. We had a drink at the bar while we waited for our table, we were there 10 minutes early.

Dinner was spectacular and the service was top notch as it is known to be. Not pushy or overbearing but just right. It is also a place to see and be seen. The prices also match the atmosphere of the caliber of this restaurant.

Can't wait to go back, this time I won't wait so long!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onaplaneagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place, great bar, great service, great ambiance, great menu, great food. If Carlsberg did a New York restaurant this would be it. Absolutely we had a perfect night here, it was worth coming all the way here from UK

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food, classy place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The decor and atmosphere in this place really sets the tone as soon as you walk in.

The service and attention to detail is also excellent. The only draw back was the beef for lunch was a bit tough. But the Lamb Ravioli that my friend had was out of this world, so lucked out there!

Highly recommend this place though... And their cocktails.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boeta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“terrific food and service, as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Three of us went to Gotham to celebrate a birthday. Although we arrived 15 minutes early, they were able to seat us promptly. This is one of the most beautiful restaurants in New York, with Christmas trees and lights all over. The food was wonderful, starting with two salads (kale and frisee and arugula with cheese and roasted beets with yummy treats alongside) and a terrine of duck, which was the best we have had outside of France. For mains, two of us split a Niman Ranch steak, priced at $190 for two, which came with terrific veggies, mashed potatoes with truffles that were divine, and short ribs, and one of us had the venison, cooked rare and perfectly with great sauces.There was a wonderful bordelaise sauce with the steaks. Dessert was the chocolate mousse, which was yummy, and a trio of sorbets. The young lady who served us was a delight and explained everything on the menu and was always there when we needed her.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Bar & Grill also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gotham Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing