We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the NYC Gold Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gotham Bar & Grill

Gotham Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Gotham Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $150
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 5th Ave + University Place
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R,W,Q to Union Square. Gotham is 2 blocks south on 12th Street. F,M to 14th Street. Gotham is 1 avenue east and 2 blocks south. 1,2,3 to 14th Street. Gotham is 2 avenues east and 2 blocks south.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still the NYC Gold Standard”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our fifth dining experience at Gotham Bar and Grill in as many years. It remains our Gold Standard for NYC fine dining. The venue is classic; the staff is most friendly and accommodating; the drinks are mixed expertly; the food is absolutely delicious and the entire experience is unhurried.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    352
    106
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited New York city for my daughters twenty fifth birthday party. This was one of the restaurants that a co-worker suggested we visit. We were a party of 8 and made our reservation for 8:45 on a Friday night. We waited about 45 min at the door but it was WELL WORTH THE WAIT! The hostess staff was spectacular and very well spoken. Our server was Dan and he was great. I would recommend you ask for him! VERY FUN GUY! The cocktails were great and the duck was spectacular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Engagement Dinner”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a little late but thankfully we were seated right away. We had 6 dishes in total ranging from scallops to tuna tartare to steak and duck. Everything was top notch and the best food we've ever had. We picked out a nice Italian wine for around $100 and some champagne and chocolate cake was gifted from a friend. The whole experience was great. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious -still”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was truly tempted to down rate this longstanding iconic NYC restaurant because of the 30 minute delay in being seated after our reservation time, but just couldn't. The food was so very good, the service rendered by Dan and the gracious apologies by our host and all staff trumped the shaky start. A large block of perfectly cooked foie gras on a bed of rhubarb and a perfect sea food salad started our meals.The host brought goat cheese ravioli in lamb broth as an apology gift. My wife then had the night special of veal loin wrapped around mushrooms and foie gras whic was amazing as was a sliced tenderloin of venison with root vegetables. A special dessert of a true tart tatin served for 2 capped a gastronomic treat of an evening. One advantage of longevity in a N Y restaurant is a wine list of older vintages which the Gotham passes to customers at rates based on ourchase price not inflated rates of current cost so we were able to enjoy a 1999 Ch Haut-Bailley with our feast. Keep on truckin Portale!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food was fantastic ..2 hr meal, Bar balcony..service great.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter celebrating our birthdays. Food and service , impeccable..
We all had different entrees, fish, outstanding...very crowded but no problems , we were seated at time, we had called , traffic , and told them we were a few minutes late and still No problem. We highly recommend this restaurant ....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eugene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Bar & Grill also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gotham Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing