We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of my favorite steakhouses in NYC”
Review of Strip House

Strip House
Reserve with OpenTable
Strip House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #574 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: University Place
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R,L to Union Square.
Description: A sultry steakhouse in New York City’s Greenwich Village where old-world glamour meets modern style and sophistication. Experience the combination of charred cuts perfectly paired with decadent sides, such as Truffle Creamed Spinach and Goose Fat Potatoes. And be sure to save room for the famed 24-Layer Chocolate Cake. Named a top steakhouse by Zagat and awarded four stars by Forbes, the namesake cut of aged beef isn't the only work of art to marvel upon...just take a look at the walls and tell us you don’t agree. Black and white vintage photos of bordello girls from the original 1900’s Studio Manasse collection reference an era of decadence and seduction. Visit our second NYC location, the new Strip House Midtown at 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, or on the Las Vegas Strip at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite steakhouses in NYC”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

After a few years since the first time we tried it this is still one of my favorite steaks. We had the bone in fillet, very tasty and tender. Very special the side dishes as well: truffle creamed spinach, cremed corn with bacon and house potatoes au gratin. Try it, you can't go wrong!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EleUdinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Strip House, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Strip House!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    173
    49
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An Excellent Steak!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We came here with a friends who lived in New York and overall it did not disappoint!
We both had fillet steaks which were cooked superbly and to be honest were very reasonably priced. The steaks are served on their own and you need to order sides separately. In comparison to the steak the side dishes are expensive but again the quality is first rate. If I have one caveat it would be the price of the wine....we had a bottle costing around £48 which would have been around £6 in the UK! Overall I found the service a little off-hand but as the food and company was great this was not a major issue.
All in all I would have no hesitation recommending this restaurant but be wary of the wine prices!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Strip House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Strip House!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your feedback. We will make note of your comments regarding the service with our staff and managers here.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Didn't have a reservation but no problem getting a nice table. Decor is good. Our waiter was exceptionally good. We both had the fillet and it was probably the best fillet I have had. Chose a bottle of wine I recognised which is from New Zealand. In England it's £8. In New York it was $60!!! Still enjoyed the evening though. They even gave us a complimentary pudding. Would love to come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Strip House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Strip House!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disaapointed”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Chose this because it was supposed to be one of the best in New York, but I found my Ribeye on the bone surprisingly disappointing. A steak should always rest before being served, but this felt cold and not really that juicy.

The atmosphere and service was excellent. Based on the other reviews, maybe I was unlucky? Or maybe people are beguiled by the gentleman's club decor & environment along with excellent service.

For a single person I came away $160 poorer... and for that price I had expected to be "wowed." Sadly, I wasn't!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Deserves a much better rating on TA”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Had a wondeful steak dinner at the Strip House on Sunday 5/18. Place is cool and hip--not stuffy. Bar is perfect size and bartender (nice gal) made a heck of a Manhattan. Food was great. Wedge Salad, filets, bone in strip, goose fat potatoes, mac and cheese, mushrooms--all spot on. While Lugers, Keens and Club A are still my top 3--you must try this place. We'll be back for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrolleyDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Strip House, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Strip House!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your wonderful feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strip House also viewed

 

Been to Strip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing