We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steakhouse”
Review of Strip House

Strip House
Reserve with OpenTable
Strip House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #508 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: University Place
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R,L to Union Square.
Description: A sultry steakhouse in New York City’s Greenwich Village where old-world glamour meets modern style and sophistication. Experience the combination of charred cuts perfectly paired with decadent sides, such as Truffle Creamed Spinach and Goose Fat Potatoes. And be sure to save room for the famed 24-Layer Chocolate Cake. Named a top steakhouse by Zagat and awarded four stars by Forbes, the namesake cut of aged beef isn't the only work of art to marvel upon...just take a look at the walls and tell us you don’t agree. Black and white vintage photos of bordello girls from the original 1900’s Studio Manasse collection reference an era of decadence and seduction. Visit our second NYC location, the new Strip House Midtown at 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, or on the Las Vegas Strip at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino.
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This steakhouse has an ambiguous name but the food shows no ambiguity: it's really good.
The place is fairly modern but it has a pleasant old-fashioned decoration and ambiance (for example, the b/w pictures on the walls).
My wife, my kids and I came for the steaks, together with some friends from NYC, and we weren't disappointed. The rib eyes and filets were delicious and the variety of great side dishes, which we all shared, made it even more pleasant.
The wine list has plenty of good wines and the evening was fantastic.
Definitely a must-go when in NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    175
    50
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The dimly lit restaurant, red lights and retro furniture give you a tingle of excitement as you are welcomed to your table by your white waistcoat waiter. Forbidden food pleasures of charred, marbled, bloody steak are what lie ahead. Fark the starters - we went straight for the rib eye with luxurious sides of ripped potatoes and rosemary, mac and cheese and fries. The steak was incredible. Hot. Soft as butter. Perfectly grilled. Just a bit fatty. Generous. Garlicky. Flawless service to boot. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Expert_adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Being from Texas, I always love a good steak. This one was one of the best I've ever had! My filet was cooked & seasoned to perfection. We tried many of the side dishes & they were all fabulous! Very pricy but worth every penny if you want quality food and a nice ambiance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is what you expect from a NY city steakhouse”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is what you expect from a NY city steakhouse. Lots of people on the floor to make sure every fork and knife and bread plate is in its perfect place! the menu is all about the steaks. The walls were filled with photo's of the famous guests - though it was a little dark in the room to see them!

Food is good, steaks are great and the sides are served family style. The host was good enough to save a tabel we we noticed sitting at the bar and the special treat of the potato soup sampler "shot" was a nice surprise. The Sea Bass was a nice option we enjoyed too!

Bartenders were pleasant and attentive and the place had quite the bar scene later in the evening. Waiter was a non-event but attentive.

It is pricey! so I expected the brocolo sides to be cooked al dente and be served warm - sadly overcooked and bland if not cool. The steaks were all done perfectly and the lamp chops were great. We all loved the house steak sauce! I saw a few tables order the fries side dish - they looked great!!

With all the choices to eat in NYC, I may still try to find a way to come back here - it was worth the trip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3nicks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Get the Steak!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We also ate here as part of our anniversary weekend. Our reservation was at 10:45 and they closed at 11. We arrived a little after 11 (after finding the place and parking) and they still seated & served us (party of 4). The bar was still hopping so it didn't seem like they would be closing soon.

The complimentary pretzel bread was AMAZING! The steak, New York Strip, was seasoned to perfection and practically melted in my mouth, it was soo good! The sides, mac n cheese and potatoes, were just ok but the main focus was the steak and we could barely finish them.

The only negative is that there are only 2 restrooms (unisex) so there was a bit of a line to get in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiffany_mwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strip House also viewed

 

Been to Strip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing