We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bouley

Bouley
Reserve with OpenTable
Bouley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Hudson Street
Transit: Chambers Street stop 1,2,3,A,C,E lines Brooklyn Bridge stop 4,5,6 lines City Hall stop R line
Description: Bouley features the exciting culinary talents of famed four- star Chef, David Bouley. Bouley offers French cuisine with modern Asian influences served in an elegant and intimate setting. In addition to the a la carte menu, the restaurant offers a $59 five course tasting menu for lunch, a prix fixe of three courses for $135 and $195 six course tasting menu for dinner. Parties of 8 or more may order from the tasting menu only and deposit is required to secure a reservation. Chef Bouley is always happy to accommodate all dietary needs and restrictions. Jackets are required for gentlemen at both lunch and dinner.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“amazing lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The lunch tasting menu is an incredible value. We had 7 courses and it was just the most lovely way to spend two hours on a rainy NYC afternoon. Yes, the waitstaff hovers a bit but really, I think people would complain a lot more if the problem was the opposite. The food is delicious and imaginative and the setting is warm and not pretentious considering the caliber of the restaurant. They are doing things just right in my opinion. Highly recommend, especially for the lunch tasting which is easily 2/3 less expensive than the same meal at dinner. With a glass of wine, coffee and tip for two - just under $200.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chefesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,241
    222
    86
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid but not Outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We came to this restaurant expecting really great things and left thinking that our experience was good but not outstanding. We opted for the degustation menu and found all the flavors very subtle - just a little too subtle. Service is full on, my water glass was topped up after every sip literally which made us feel a little on edge. Menu looks very nice and there is a selection for everyone. The bill came to 1000 for three of us...given the calibre of the establishment i thought was reasonable and all the dishes promised a lot i jusy couldnt find enough flavour in any of them. One great part of the restaurnat is the bread cart...if you are a bread lover and I am you will explode with great bread choices but overall i wouldnt come back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank turbosnail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This may be the best restaurant meal I have ever had. Not the best value, but the best... I'll start with the service, because it was amazing. It was very proper, but friendly at the same time. The waitstaff would engage with you if invited, but left you alone otherwise. The space was equally impressive, starting with the apple-lined walls of the vestibule. It is an intimate and interesting restaurant. The food was top notch, starting with the selection of breads. The oysters with Meyer lemon foam were to die for. I dream about them. The farm egg was also excellent. As for the entrees, the lobster was just right with an interesting mix of flavors. The duck and the cod were delicious. The best part of the meal were the tastes of other things that came between courses. What a variety of flavors... Cheeses, desserts, all wonderful... The wine list was large and interesting with selections that were surprisingly reasonable for a top-end New York restaurant. We had a very pleasant and relaxing dinner with an old friend. We look forward to going back to Bouley (although not necessarily soon at these prices).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MRM1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went for a leisurely lunch on a rainy day and had course after course of very small portions of exquisite food, with excellent wines recommended by our waiter. It's definitely a "fussy" place, with a hierarchy of wait staff, so don't go if that kind of thing gets on your nerves. But the room is beautiful and the food is exceptional. As we were leaving, the hat check person handed us each a small bag with a loaf of lemon tea bread inside. If you can, get a table against the wall and, if there are two of you, sit side by side, so that you can enjoy the lovely room while you're eating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Amazing food, adequate service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

There is no question the food here is amazing. We loved every course. We dined at lunch which was a very good deal. We also did the wine pairings and tasted some amazing wines we would normally not selected (although the pours were on the small side). The service was rather uneven, two different servers would come by and repeat the same script, not knowing the other had been by already. Also our table was located so that it felt like 5 waiters were hovering, very hard to relax. The food was amazing though, I would totally come back, my husband though couldn't handle the service issues again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouley also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bouley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing