We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal Ever!”
Review of Bouley Restaurant

Bouley Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bouley Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Hudson Street
Transit: Chambers Street stop 1,2,3,A,C,E lines Brooklyn Bridge stop 4,5,6 lines City Hall stop R line
Description: Bouley features the exciting culinary talents of famed four- star Chef, David Bouley. Bouley offers French cuisine with modern Asian influences served in an elegant and intimate setting. In addition to the a la carte menu, the restaurant offers a $59 five course tasting menu for lunch, a prix fixe of three courses for $135 and $195 six course tasting menu for dinner. Parties of 8 or more may order from the tasting menu only and deposit is required to secure a reservation. Chef Bouley is always happy to accommodate all dietary needs and restrictions. Jackets are required for gentlemen at both lunch and dinner.
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went for a late leisurely lunch to celebrate our 20th, and we're so glad we did. We had the lunch prix fixe menu with wine pairings. Every, single dish, was more amazing than the last. There were many extra complimentary courses given to us by the chef. The sommelier came over and presented each pairing before each course. The service was stellar! They were friendly without being overwhelming but perfect in making you feel pampered and welcome at the same time. The atmosphere was elegant and warm. It reminds me of Paris. The fresh flowers were just gorgeous! This is truly a culinary journey not to miss. I can't wait to return! This was truly the best meal Of my 41 years of life! Just go!!!!!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,263
    228
    86
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“excellent food in a classy ambiance”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

At the end of our one week holiday in New York, we had dinner at Bouley.
We had walked past it every day because we stayed in an apartment in Duane street and on our last night, we decided to go in and make a reservation. We were lucky to get a table at such short notice!
The food was excellent, a beautiful winelist and very correct and friendly service, worth every dollar!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThieuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“deserves it's reputation”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

this is a great place, especially if you aren't the one paying for it !! Everything about the place is great, my meal was terrific. wonderful place for a very special occasions

Helpful?
1 Thank SaprissAmericano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Exceptional in every category.

After being rudely treated and dismissed at one of their sister restaurants (because we traveled with child) across the street (Brushstroke), we found ourselves in the 17 degree bitter cold attempting to hail a cab on a side street with our small child. My husband ran into the nearest restaurant where we inquired about availability. Of course, they were full but inquired as to why we were so exasperated. After hearing of our terrible experience at Brushstroke and the shunning of our infant, they immediately did everything that they could do accommodate our small family attempting to fit us in so that we did not have to travel from restaurant to restaurant trying to find an open reservation on a Saturday evening. From start to finish, the experience was spectacular - ambiance, cuisine, service, lighting, management, decor, volume, etc. Every single course (and those special treats in between) were exquisite. We had been to 2 other Michelin star rated restaurants during our short weekend in NYC and Bouley was hands-down our favorite experience. They have a SUPERB staff, and I am so thankful for their warmth, empathy, and genuine care in their customer service. They truly made up for our mismanaged experience across the street and exceeded all of our expectations. We especially thank their kind Front of House Manager and General Manager for all they that did to make us feel welcome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank TMSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our restaurant of the year”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Exquisite. The chef seemed to appreciate the opportunity to do something special for vegetarian customers -- at least that's how the food tasted. Lovely surroundings, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KGB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouley Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bouley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing