We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Quijote

El Quijote
Ranked #1,434 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Favorite”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Been going here for years. Highly recommend the Paella which is second to none. Great value, great service. Not the prettiest place in the world but the food here is top notch and a great value. Would recommend as the menue is expansive and the staff attentive. Good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    103
    21
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oh my God! Avoid if you can!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were here with a group of people, two evenings after another.
So it was for sure not an exception.

Service was unprofessional and unfriendly.
Salad dressing was salty with no taste, salad was boring.
First red wine was very weak (house wine), they brought us another bottle which was ok but did not really tast, low quality.
New York Strip was ok but nothing special.
Flan was like 7 days old, that was the taste.


No recommendation for anything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Different”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Not your usual, the atmosphere was relax and family friendly. The staff was nice and the food was good. Nothing to exciting but relaxing if you want to just have a day out with your spouse

Helpful?
Thank Philosophuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
274 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I like to sit at the bar and have a bottle of red wine and order appetizers. The Paella is excellent!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank amasnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steaks are amazing!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband had the biggest steak I have ever seen. When they were bringing it to the table I couldnt believe it. My son had the ribeye and both of these steaks were to die for! Not to mention that it was more than reasonably priced. I had the paella and it was enough to serve 8 people I think. I was not as impressed with it. It was way too much rice for my liking. The atmospher is friendly and was just an all around great place to go. The servers were great and attended to our every need and we never wanted for anything.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbullard8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Quijote also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to El Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing