We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobu Next Door - CLOSED

Nobu Next Door
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Franklin St.
Transit: 1 to Franklin St. Station
Description: Nobu Next Door, which opened as an extension of the original Nobu, has now taken on a life of its own. Opened in 1998 due to high demand, its menu mirrors the original Nobu and offers Nobu To Go. Join us at Next Door for brunch Saturdays and Sundays.
habana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Go!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great Japanese food ! Excellent service.
We going there recommended by a friend as one of the best Japanese in NY and we were not disappointed. Less expensive that the Official Nobu Restaurant, is just next door.
Seat at the Bar and enjoy the chef`s working

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    71
    41
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Vibe, nice food, nice service, try not to miss!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great service, fantastic atmosphere, vast and varied menu. The kobu beef to die for. Food was tasty and very well prepared. All starters delivered to a table of four at same time as too the mains. There was no asking who ordered what. The waitress new exactly what was going on. The bill came quickly once it was requested. Have a go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeff1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“unfriendly but tasty”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Next door Nobu is supposed to be the cheaper brother of the Nobu restaurant. We ordered some sushi, which was very tasty, but the staff wasn't very helpfull and made it very clear that our tip was lower than they wanted it to be..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flo Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flawless food, but...”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

OK, we cheated a bit. We went during Restaurant Week, because 3 courses for $35 seemed a bargain way for me to try Nobu's food at it's little sister restaurant (my husband having raved about Nobu on a few occasions). Nobu Next Door has a no-reservations policy, which worked in our favour, as early diners can get in without queuing. It also has a reputation for being more informal than it's older brother, which it lived up to; a family with a baby were at the adjacent table, though clientele was mostly young locals. Service was flawless, and the food perfect: rock shrimp tempura, arctic char and a pina colada inspired dessert couldn't be faulted. Our neighbours sushi platter looked delicious. Yet it didn't have the same buzz about it that other places we visited. Perhaps it livens up later in the evening?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Menu”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pretty affordable when you get the Restaurant Week Menu. The food is super amazing especially the Black Cod. Staff were attentive and friendly. Ambience was lively. Would definitely come back for more even though I would have to pay a bit more the next time as restaurant week is over!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hw3itan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu Next Door also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing