We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Menu for a Special Night”
Review of Camaje Bistro

Camaje Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Camaje Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6,254 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Bleecker St.
Transit: Houston St (1, 2) Spring St (A, C, E) W 4 St (A, B, C, D, E, F, M)
Description: A hidden little gem in the heart of greenwich village. This noveau French American bistro was established in 1997 by owner/chef Abigail Hitchcock. This cozy, intimate, yet casual restaurant offers a local, seasonal menu at affordable prices. Enjoy dinner on our sofa while taking in the views of the historic townhouses of the Village and the people who live in the neighborhood. Chef Abby's creations include appetizers like hot crab dip, socca (a chick pea pizza) served with a red pepper coulis and entrees like hanger steak, house smoked duck sandwich, and our wildly popular Banoffee Pie. We also offer hands on cooking classes and corporate events!
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Special Menu for a Special Night”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to CamJe Bistro for a 'dark dining' experience. Meaning we ate blindfolded. It was a unique experience, where we had 4 courses of food and 3 paired wines...in the dark. And we had to guess, using all of our senses, what we had eaten for the last 2 1/2 hours.
The food was good, but the blindfolded experience was even better.
Can't tell you about the décor because we walked in blindfolded and walked out blindfolded, unless you decided to peek; before, during or after...I chose not to.
There was also vocal and musical entertainment, and workers who went around rubbing your shoulders, massaging your back and scrunching your hair. Yikes....there goes my hairdo!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mama030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. It's charming and the food is simply mouth-watering.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
246 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“One Of New York's Best!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Over the years Camaje has become my "home away from home." The restaurant itself is cozy and inviting. The chef/owner, Abigail Hitchcock, is professionally trained and world-traveled. The wait staff is friendly and accommodating.

As others have stated, the Camaje menu is is not extensive. However, it isn't intended to be since all dishes are prepared using only fresh ingredients purchased from local markets. The results have always proven to combine exquisite taste with affordable prices! Chef Abigail Hitchcock even offers hands-on cooking classes, including walking tours of both the Union Square and Chinatown markets with fresh ingredients purchased on-the-spot and prepared by the class back at the restaurant. Yes, her menu changes seasonally.

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. Non-chain establishments such as Camaje need the support of locals as well as visitors to help continue the culinary diversity available to those of us who appreciate the experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Resingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westfield, nj
Level Contributor
305 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Village find!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wonderful coq au vin; bargain prix fixe; and wonderful service make this intimate bistro well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DSM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The place has a very nice atmosphere very warm and welcoming perfect for a couple or a small party of friends, but the food was disappointing. Very small manu with few main dishes. We ended up ordering omelettes witch were nothing special: some where even cold. While we were there they were also giving cooking classes to some people, but I think the place it's really too small for it. Only one waiter, very very very slow service. There are much better places in the area, so there's no reason to go here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadtripping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camaje Bistro also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Camaje Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing