We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cones

Cones
Ranked #121 of 443 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nothing else beats it in the city. It's pricey and cash-only, but totally worth it. It's fun to try some of the unique flavors such as corn and pumpkin but the classics are delicious as well. My favorite is the pistachio. Pear sorbet is great and refreshing on a hot summer day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NutMeg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Ice cream in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I love this ice cream place. First of all, the owner is or was from Argentina, not sure about that but I am sure they have the Argentinian recipe and the quality of the ice cream and the variety is huge!!!
It's a little bit price comparing with another places but it's absolutely worth it!! YUMMY!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank yayalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay Gelato”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Not bad, nothing spectacular. Probably above- average with a decent selection of flavors.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank torino006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Delicious fun ice cream with an international flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you want a break from walking around the Village, stop in at Cones. The outside is fairly nondescript but do not let that dissuade you. When you walk inside on your left is a selection of ice creams, then a case showing ice cream cakes and then another cooler of more ice creams. Each one is labeled as to what they are. There is also a large readable sign on the wall. Just go up to the counter to order. After you receive your order you will pay at the cash register at the opposite end of the counter.
If you are unsure of a certain flavor, ask for a sample. They are very happy to do so and to suggest flavors. I tried the green ice tea and found it a bit strong for my tastes, even tho the consistency was smooth and I love drinking green tea. What I ended up with instead was one scoop of the zabayone - based on wine. My hubby got a scoop of white chocolate on top of a scoop of mango sorbet - that was actually a really good combo if you like sweet. You can select cups or waffle cones or regular cones. Also, you can go with 1 or 2 or 3 scoops.
This not cheap ice cream. We paid ten dollars for the two of us but we found it well worth it. It was creamy and cold and very, very flavorful. This is unlike ice cream you buy in containers at the grocery store which is sort of bland in comparison. I understand that Cones is handmade with natural fresh ingredients which I believe shines through.
There are just a few tables and chairs available and the store is sort of narrow. The only other negative is no restroom facility.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

The ice cream was good, and there were a lot of unique flavours to choose from. My husband raved about his tiramisu ice cream, and my coconut was good. You can't get more than one flavour unless you get a dish though, or a big waffle cone. Oh well.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cones also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing