We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for my birthday. Strong yummy drinks!”
Review of AGAVE

AGAVE
Reserve with OpenTable
AGAVE is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,858 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 10th St. and Charles St.
Transit: 1, 9 Christopher Street
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Went for my birthday. Strong yummy drinks!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Went here with a group of friends for my birthday. Had a blast and they gave us a great table. The drinks were plentiful and delicious! Highly recommend this place if you're wanting to have a good time with buddies.

The food was ok. I ordered the adobe chicken enchiladas and while almost everything tastes good when I'm drunk, I actually couldn't even eat this dish (it was really really sweet) and I devoured my husbands quesadilla instead ;)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brubru83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    68
    29
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lacking...”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Every time I go to Agave I really want to have a good time. Unfortunately when I am seated (every time) it take 20 mins before the waiter shows up. He served us melted "frozen" margs. Guac was overpowered by the salsa that formed a pool of water and lime juice in the tostada bowl. 20 mins after we finished our guac our waiter showed up again to finally take our dinner order. Food was mediocre at best. Amazingly our next round of margs were frozen. Waited for the waiter for another 20-30 mins before I could ask for the check. I almost contemplated leaving without paying as no one was paying attention to our existence. My conscience wouldn't let me.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelc274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The worst!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were a group of 10 girls in our 20's. I emphasize that because to make a group of young women happy is pretty easy, flatter, smile and bring drinks. Our waiter was a nightmare. Had a problem that we had drinks from the bar since we had to wait to be seated and had a massive attitude. Food was cold and he wouldn't come back to the table. The only good thing was the busboy who we ended up giving our tip to. Horrible experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique food and a cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife had dined at Agave during a prior trip to NYC and really liked the food and the atmosphere. Her family is from New Mexico, so she's pretty picky about southwestern cuisine. She said the decor reminded her of home! We had the grilled corn appetizer, which was really yummy. We enjoyed our dinner entrees, but only wished we could have brought the leftovers home! The restaurant was packed (many patrons were redeeming groupons), so our server was a little frazzled. However, she was still polite and attentive. We wil definitely return the next time we are in NYC!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason22030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great quesadilla !!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We came across this restaurant by chance, it was a hot day and we fancied sitting outside for lunch and there was a vacant table.

Service was very friendly and helpful providing both an insight to the food and local areas.

There was a good wine selection. Fresh chilled water was provided free throughout your meal.

I had the quesadilla and they tasted authentic, my partner went for a burger and he said it was one of the best he'd had of late.

Definately worth a visit either for lunch, brunch or even dinner !!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AGAVE also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to AGAVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing