We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for sushi in NYC”

Marumi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #2,604 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Description: Since 1992, Marumi Restaurant has been serving high quality Japanese food at a reasonable price.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for sushi in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Most of the sushi restaurants in NY are overpriced, and this place seemed to me a really good value. The service was a bit slow and the staff don't have much character, but the important things were there: good sushi, good beer, good sake. Definitely try the super white tuna, which you don't see often on sushi menus.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really good Japanese in the heart of NYU”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

After looking for a Japanese restaurant and reading the trip advisor reviews I headed here with friends on a Sunday night. The street was really quiet but this place was busy. The Japanese food was excellent quality and the place has a nice atmosphere. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good Japanese meal in new York. The menu is really extensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Sushi at an excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have been going to Marumi for over ten years and the quality has not wavered once since we first discovered the place.
One of the greatest sushi places in regards of price to quality ratio.
Try the spicy sashimi salad or one of the special rolls such as the Oyako Maki. We love it!
The restaurant is small and as in many NYC restaurants you might have to wait to be seated. But the food deserves to be tasted and the wait time is really reasonable. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RYN_Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“perfect sushi, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a charming little place with reasonable prices. Best of all, the sushi and sashimi are top-notch. The salmon tartare is one of the prettiest presentations I've ever seen with fat salmon pushed to the edge by avocado and a peppery mayonnaise. The rolls are inventive and beautifully done.
It's a shame the beer list is both short and boring, but the food is so good that we drank water and almost didn't care.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I just love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have been coming here for more than 15yrs and have always found the food very satisfying. The restaurant is authentic, clean and simple. It is a place where you go to eat rathen than see and be seen.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank almoniyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marumi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Marumi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing