We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow try this one!”
Review of Periyali

Periyali
Reserve with OpenTable
Periyali is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,077 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 5th & 6th Ave
Transit: 1,F,V,N,R,4,6 trains
Description: A fine dining restaurant in NYC, Periyali showcases elegant Greek cuisine and authentic specialities. Exotic cocktails, Greek wine and Greek spirits feature on the tempting drinks list. Renowned as one of the most famous Greek restaurants in Manhattan, Periyali redefines Greek cuisine with signature dishes like pan fried calf's liver, red wine marinated octopus or stewed rabbit.
Tenafly nj
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow try this one!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My friend had been going here for over 20 years and took me last week. What a fabulous dinner and wine we shared! This place has been here for 26 years. The waiters were attentive and recommended the porgy a fish I had never eaten. It was De licous done just right with a light olive oil lemon, I skipped the capers. The desserts were just as superb. Best were the little Greek cookies!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thekeratinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    59
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great decor, excellent cocktails, super food and friendly, attentive service. I understand this place has been in operation for a while and it's easy to see why people patronise it. Try it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chetcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Our Greek of choice in NY”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been going to Periyali for years and it is our Greek restaurant of choice in NY. We prefer the front room. Start with grilled octopus. Giant beans. Other bean things. Then a steak kabob or grilled lamb chops.....order rare as they are thin

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Saturday night, late dinner. Pleasant atmosphere. The tables in this place are not crowded together so you can actually have a private conversation. Food was fresh and well seasoned. Had the beets and Greek salad for appetizers, veal and lamb chops for main courses. Food was excellent and service was right on point and very attentive. Great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1roaminroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best octopus i've had!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we went here on a whim one night when we were in the area. i'm greek so i'm pretty judgemental when it comes to greek restaurants. the octopus here was so so so good! i would go back here just for the octopus. my main dish was a lamb dish that didn't leave a real impression...but that octopus..awesome!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dchrysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periyali also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Periyali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing