We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Good & Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Babbo

Babbo
Reserve with OpenTable
Babbo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #448 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Between 6th Avenue and MacDougal Street
Transit: West 4th street subway station (8th street/Waverly Place exit): A,C,E,B,D,F and M trains. We recommend traveling at the back of the train if coming from uptown, the front of the train if coming from downtown, to find the closest exit at the station.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Good & Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

the four course tasting menu is unique and simply delicious. Their pairings are delightful and the wines are really tasty as well. loved it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shangoodjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    351
    243
    97
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place with major irritant (packed and wait)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm quite sure that this restaurant's reputation was not built on air but I think it is time to improve on certain aspects. We had to wait 30 minutes to be seated because it seems that many clients had opted for the dégustation(tasting) menu accompanied with wine. I think that a place this busy should have the privilege of organizing their schedule more appropriately. It would be very easy to tell people to reserve if they want the tasting menu and even go as far as expecting the whole table to order it to be able to get it. This way it would be easier to schedule subsequent clients. This would at the same time avoid a jam packed entrance which does not serve well the clients nor the employees. Walk in clients should have to wait outside. The food was good but nothing to blow us away. The people were friendly and pleasant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO ON CANADA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very busy restaurant. We sat upstairs and had great food and great service. I want to go back and have the pasta tasting menu. This time I had the spagetti with lobster which was amazing. Big chunks of lobster. Then I had the veal chop which was probably the best I ever had. I found the wine list expensive. They should have a few more selection in the lower price range. Other than that I look forward to going back on my next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fdigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Crammed in and horrible noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

A dear friend invited us to join her family for a birthday celebration dinner at Babbo on a weekday night. Having eaten a fabulous meal there before, we were looking forward to it. Upon entering it took 10 minutes to get past the crowd to deposit a wet raincoat and umbrella at the coat check. When I got to our table, the noise in the upstairs dining room (even in our more secluded corner) made it impossible to hear normal table conversation. Problems with trying to share appetizers among the group because the waiter didn't bring small plates for each person. A sommelier tried to suggest to our host a larger wine bottle than the group could possibly have consumed. Lovely autumn menu with great flavors, but again spoiled by the constant noise and feeling jammed in. Not inclined to return any time soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Whats the Fuss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had lunch on a Saturday. Tables on top of each other. Stared at a staircase in need of new carpeting and a tree in the middle of the restaurand causing waitstaff and diners to duck as to not hit their heads on the branches. Waitress helpful and friendly. If everyone ate this portion size no one would be overweight. Quail and gnocchi (with one piece of basil) fair at best. Vegetable plate and branzino OK. Eggplant dish was good. Busboys hovered and took our plates while we had last bite in our mouths. Manager needs to be more involved to make sure things are going well. What's the fuss? Had dessert elsewhere. $120, no wine or dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Babbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing