We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC pizza and jazz”
Review of Arturo's

Arturo's
Ranked #748 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great NYC pizza and jazz”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

As per the recommendations for good coal-fired pizza in NYC we went for an early dinner on our first night in NYC. Initially seated in the second room we moved to a corner cubicle near the piano when space came available. Simple, relaxed family style eating with accommodating and friendly servers. The pizza was awesome, the jazz relaxing - what a great way to begin a stay in NYC!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    97
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited Arturos after a recommendation from a tour guide (Big City walks).
Great jazz, wine, pizza, service and the friendliest locals we met on our visit to New York.
If want to listen to jazz in a relaxing atmosphere with good food and wine, this is the place to visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linlithgowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun, good food and authentic characters !”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After a gallery opening of my paintings on W 25th St., we walked down to Arturo's for dinner. This was our first time there with a friend who lives in the village. Couldn't have been a more perfect place for me to unwind ! This is one of those places in NYC, where you feel you're a guest and not a customer. Go for dinner - spend the evening !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monhegan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The pizza was fantastic, the entertainment atmosphere was great and the opportunity to people watch was a big plus for me as we were seated by a window! The only draw backs - the place was super busy and it took a while to get service and it was freezing! We were close to the front door and it was cold outside, but still...I ate dinner with my winter coat on!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An enjoyable step back in time”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is a legend. that's why I'm here once a month when in town on business or at leisure. Founded in 1958, the place has changed little in its 50+ years. A bar, Italian restaurant, jazz club and local meeting place. Independently assessed as being in the top pizza houses in New York, and that is one major compliment. Sometimes it is packed to the roof, other times it is quiet. High-standard jazz 7 nights a week make this a great evening out in itself. There are very few genuine "old" Greenwich village places like this left in the ever-changing city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arturo's also viewed

 

Been to Arturo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing