We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Oysters?? Outstanding seafood!”
Review of AQUAGRILL

AQUAGRILL
Reserve with OpenTable
AQUAGRILL is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: SoHo
Description: AQUAGRILL features inspired fish and seafood preparations using only the freshest and finest ingredients. Exotic and creative daily specials, 25 different types of oysters featured daily at the NYC's Best Raw Bar (Zagat 2017) and an Award Winning Wine List (Wine Spectator 2016) and Number One Brunch (Zagat 2016) served on the Saturday and Sunday. Please check our daily specials posted on our website for today's special selections and Aquagrill's full list of oysters available today.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love Oysters?? Outstanding seafood!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What can you say about a place that has 26 different typres of Oysters to pick from? Just unbelievable! And probably the freshest seafood I've seen in NYC. Everytime I eat here it just seems they've changed things up and take it to another level.

One thing that I due often in restaurants, but definitely do at the Aquagrill, is get their specials. There hasn't been a time when they haven't knocked it out of the park. The food, the service, the selection, is all top shelf. One of the other reviewers described the place as "bustling" and that is definitely true. So if your looking for a quite place....don't go here. But to me the feel of the place is just terrific. So enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barfoot164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    294
    66
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Oysters, Seafood & Service ”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I love this bustling restaurant for its incredible oysters and seafood, friendly but very professional service and for being busy busy busy - great feel to the room. I have been a gazillion times and can't get enough of it.

Helpful?
Thank Elliot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Superb seafood”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is long overdue review.
We visited Aquagrill few times in May 2013 when we stayed at the nearby Trump SoHo.

I cannot say enough great words for Aquagrill which was for us definitely one of the best restaurants in NYC.

Oysters: Fresh and tasty.

Peppered Tuna Carpaccio - amazing !

Spicy Tuna Tartare – great!

Chilled Fresh Maine Jonah Crab Claws – yummy!

Seared Diver Sea Scallops with Dungeness Crabmeat Risotto – Unbelievable!

Aquagrill has wonderful service, nice ambiance and delicious food!

The restaurant seems to be full all the time even in the afternoon between lunch and dinner.

Just go there and make sure you have booked a table.

The restaurant was not on Open Table at that time, but we e-mailed directly Aquagrill, before our trip from our home in Europe and the restaurant made all the arrangements (booking) for us by simple E-mail. That is great customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivo_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a must-return place...wonderful service, great ambiance and delicious food! We shared the bonito tartare...perfect. Scallops and crab risotto was divine...great grilled bluefin tuna. We had the prune armangac creme brûlée...delicious! The also spoiled us with amuse Bouche at the start and at the end...a keeper!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Close to the hype”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had dinner for four on a recent Wednesday night. Read the hype and here is the skinny.

This is THEE hot place on Spring Street. Bar is crowded as is the restaurant. Not particularly big and many tables, especially for two are stacked. Yes, it's loud. We were seated in the outdoor enclosed patio which was less noisy but we missed out on the ambiance of the place.

BTW-- restrooms were single person only and men's room was wet, drenched and dirty. I pity the person that has to try to sit!

THE MEAL
I had the best oysters of my life there. Of the entrees, 3 of the 4 were excellent. I had the Bouillabaisse which was underwhelming. The Cod, Scallops and Branzino entrees were all very well liked. Specialty drinks were good as was wine (average 12 bucks) although they can certainly fill the glass up a bit more than they do.

Prices are in line and not outrageous. If you love fish--go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AQUAGRILL also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
 

Been to AQUAGRILL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing