We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very good. In fact, wonderful.”
Review of AQUAGRILL

AQUAGRILL
Reserve with OpenTable
AQUAGRILL is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoHo
Description: AQUAGRILL features inspired fish and seafood preparations using only the freshest and finest ingredients. Exotic and creative daily specials, 25 different types of oysters featured daily at the NYC's Best Raw Bar (Zagat 2017) and an Award Winning Wine List (Wine Spectator 2016) and Number One Brunch (Zagat 2016) served on the Saturday and Sunday. Please check our daily specials posted on our website for today's special selections and Aquagrill's full list of oysters available today.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very, very good. In fact, wonderful.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spouse and I had 6:30 reservation for Sunday night. Resto was crowded when we arrived, but we were shown right to our table: a banquette near the back, as we had requested. Food arrived timely, and we never felt rushed, despite resto being fully booked. Tables are close together, and it can seem noisy at times.

The food was wonderful. We split a lobster salad. I had scallops with risotto and snow peas, spouse had monkfish with polenta. We split a dessert of roasted grapefruit with grapefruit sorbet. Everything was well prepared and and presented, and graciously served. To start, we were presented with a flavorful shrimp amuse bouche, and complementary cookies at the end.

While not inexpensive, this meal was less pricey and a better experience than we have had in more expensive seafood restos in mid-town. Good value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbeth1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    292
    64
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fish, fresh, fun”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Aquagrill has been on my must visit list for a long time. It did not disappoint. The atmosphere captured the theme of the food with elegant coast decor. The service was welcoming from the beginning to the end of the evening. The food was fresh and well prepared. I was at a table with five other quests and we all enjoyed the creative presentation as well the the delicious combination of favors. We can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Innovative indeed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is one place you can't miss when you are in the city craving some very good seafood. First and foremost it is a small and secluded place in the middle of Soho, very nicely decorated without any conventional commercial feel. From the moment you walk in, the oyster towers give you a feel of freshness and you immediately want to have as many as you can. The staff is very attentive, our waitress really knew all her stuff by heart and conveys all the wonderful things they sell on the menu. Food is absolutely delicious and all of their creations are completely innovative. Let the waitress choose 12 oysters from different places and I assure you you won't regret it. The lobster and all of their main entrees are absolutely fantastic, well seasoned and leave you wanting a little more. Desserts are to die for, everything is prepared from scratch on the place so it is certainly a great way to close the night. This is a fantastic place to go on a Saturday night and impress your significant other...

Helpful?
1 Thank julian0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Marvellous!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent restaurant with great seafood, a very good wine list and some very interesting cocktails. One of the best in New York.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AthinaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

one of the best seafoods ever experienced with a great location near SoHo. loved the different varieties of the superb oysters and the lobster sandwich. would also suggest the grilled scallops that were well sized and delicious. cant wait to return in our next trip to NYC.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ErolBrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AQUAGRILL also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to AQUAGRILL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing