We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now you can get mediocre French food without traveling all the way to Paris”
Review of Gascogne - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gascogne
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Newton, Mass
Level Contributor
226 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Now you can get mediocre French food without traveling all the way to Paris”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Yes, this is an authentic French experience but the cognoscenti know that most "authentic" French restaurants in Paris in this price range are mediocre. (Eating well in Paris requires either spending a lot, getting really lucky, or building your own meal through boulangeries, charcuteries etc.)

The bread was too crusty, the $50 bottle of wine was $74, and my vichysoisse appetizer and trout entree had no real flavor. We were so disappointed that we skipped dessert.

The one excellent feature is outdoor seating in the rear of the restaurant, away from the noise of the street. Not too many restaurants in NYC offer that. Offsetting that attribute were tables and chairs reminiscent of a cheap outdoor wedding.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine French experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had brunch at Gascogne, authentic French cuisine, especially the duck! Attentive wait staff, feels like a Paris bistro.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fabulous find...of all the many wonderful restaurants in the city!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

From the greeting at the door to the seating at the table to the abundance of attention from many different waitstaff to lastly the outrageously wonderful meal....we couldn't have been more pleased. And not wanting a slick NYC experience for Valentine's dinner, Gascogne is quite a romantic spot. Our meal for this occasion was prix fixe, which I think is always an option, with many fine choices. We sat in the basement which is out of the way of the small bar scene upstairs, so very quiet. In better weather, an outdoor patio must be wonderful. And so, when in the City next, we'll be sure to be back...and ask for Angel...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western north caolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice little spot of france on 8th ave”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

on a cold blustery day, we stopped for late lunch before catching movie on 23rd st.....very convenient, charming, tiny place w/ adorable garden area. good food and ambiance, would return.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank flatrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great traditional food from the South East of France”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were 2 (1 French + 1 American) and ordered the escaoutoun and the terrine landaise, then a faux-fillet and a cassoulet and for dessert, sorbet and a crème brûlée.

The hors d'oeuvre portions were small and this could be disappointing for Americans but everything was really tasty and I particularly appreciated the mushrooms accompanying the escaoutoun.

The faux-fillet was tender and cooked the way I like (rare) and the béarnaise sauce was fresh and tasty. The cassoulet was copious with duck (or goose?) meat, pork sausage and white beans. It had been covered with bread crumbs and grilled in the oven which is not the usual way to serve it but it turned out to be really good. Also, compared to the usual recipe, it did not come with as much sauce and confit fat as can be served in France but at the end, it was as tasty and it was lighter and easier to digest.

I've often been disappointed with crème brûlée served in the US but not this time. The top was well caramelized and crusty (which is a good sign) and it was simply delicious.

We wanted to order whine but they had run out of 3 different bottles. Other reviewers have mentioned that and I find this disappointing for a French restaurant in NY. We ended up with with a glass of Riesling (which is a wine I usually like a lot).

The owner and most of the waiters are French which adds some charm (this is what I would expect from a French restaurant) but the restaurant is relatively small and quickly becomes crowded. It can be tricky to get to your chair/table without disturbing other customers.

Overall, it was a good evening and a great way for Americans to discover French cuisine (and for expats to feel at home).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffan_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gascogne also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing