We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Le Gigot

Le Gigot
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Gigot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,442 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: West 4th Street
Transit: A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Serving Provencal cuisine. Purity of ingredients and simplicity of preparation distinguish our specialties. Seasonal dishes are always introduced. A petite zinc bar, banquettes and floral arrangements foster a warm cozy ambiance, and an attentive staff ensures a customers' comfort and satisfaction.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent, delicious food. Great atmosphere. We are return customers. They only take cash, so bring lots of it, but it is well worth every penny. The scallops and risotto were out of this world. And I loved the brioche pudding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank USAMyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Village Gem”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

In a nice, cozy space, with great food and ambiance. Pam, the owner, is friendly, as are the staff. The space is small, which can either seem romantic or, if crowded, a little cramped and noisy, but always welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Le Gigot Greenwich Village”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our Greenwich Food Tour guide. We made it a point to come back for dinner and were pleased that we did. There is limited seating and personal service in keeping with the Parisian bistro theme. The food was tasty though the prices, $30 for bouillibase, were on the high side (as is everything in NYC). The meal came with freshly baked sour dough bread. We were especially appreciative that they seated us early when our plans changed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“avoid”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

the food was good, but marred by an episode of food poisoning

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peaberry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked a table for dinner here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and were very glad we did The restaurant is really atmospheric as it's quite tiny with only a small number of tables... ideal for a romantic date. Staff are friendly and happily suggested a really good bottle of French pinot which we both enjoyed and which matched our delicious food really well. Portions are smallish, but you won't come out hungry.

The only downside is that it's cash or Amex only, no other credit cards accepted. I even have an Amex which I took on holiday solely for the purpose of visiting this restaurant... then promptly left it in our hotel safe! Thankfully there's a cash point a short walk away.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gigot also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Gigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing