We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fresh Seafood with Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thalassa

Thalassa
Reserve with OpenTable
Thalassa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,363 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Greenwich and Hudson Street
Transit: 1 Train to Franklin Street A, C, E to Canal Street
nyc
Level Contributor
245 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Seafood with Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

It's a trendy and modern looking Greek restaurant. This place is not pretencious and they definitely prepare their seafood dishes well. If you are in the area looking for good seafood, this is the place to go. It's close to the subway line.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodyholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Consistently Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been to Thalassa several times for Restaurant Week where the ambiance, cuisine, and service have been consistently exemplary. Its Tribeca location is easily accessible, as the #1 train stops two blocks away on Franklin Street.

At its entrance there is an attractive, roomy bar area and a carefully crafted display of fish and seafood on the far end where one can choose their main course. The dining room is separated from the bar by an attractive brick wall with large openings to maintain a boundary between the two rooms and, along with its soaring ceiling, a sense of openness. The dining room is beautiful where the tables are well spaced for a sense of privacy, and there is no discernible noise to compete with conversation. The lighting is soft, and imparts a sense of warmth, but not to the extreme where a flashlight is necessary to read the menu! This is a venue where either a romantic evening or a “power-dinner” would work well.

Thalassa’s Restaurant Week menu is one of the most generous that I have yet experienced. Their wine list is impressive with a decent sampling of wines by the glass. A Greek cabernet was excellent: bold and savory, and was a sizable portion at $14 a glass. One waiter quickly approached the table with a sampling of breads including olive bread and an olive-oil infused focaccia. A large serving of home-made hoummos, olive oil, and olives were served with the bread. They were so good that I would have been content with just the bread and wine.

An amuse bouche was a petit codfish cake – perfectly browned with a creamy, rich center. A large portion of charcoal grilled, sliced octopus accompanied a fava bean purée and a small assortment of greens as a first course that was delicious. Two lamb chops, perfectly grilled, à point, were served with oven roasted, lemon potatoes and haricots vert. The meal closed with a creamy, refreshing panna cotta with caramelized pear. The two were artfully connected by a thin line of a fruit purée which wound itself over blackberries and raspberries. The sheep’s milk “martini” tasted like genuine Greek yogurt (commercial varieties have yet to approach this level of authenticity) served with honey. While we were quite sated, a dish of a two miniature, thumb-size muffins and two high-grade dark chocolates added to our glucose levels!

The service did not waiver from my prior experiences at Thalassa. The staff was thoroughly pleasant, attentive, non-obtrusive, and caring.

I look forward to my return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

As you walk in the ambiance is very nice and the hostess greeted us nicely. From there it was all down hill. Our waiter was obnoxious. He had this air of "I couldn't care less" attitude. At one point we couldn't even find him to order something. We had to commandeer another waiter who took our dessert order. The menu he gave us when we walked in had a 3 course tasting menu in addition to the other items on the menu. When one of the people at our table tried to order it he rudely said this is not available on Sat. However, nowhere on the menu did it state that.
The 4 people in our party "who are all seasoned New Yorker's who eat out regularly" came away with the same conclusion. Very overpriced for mediocre food and terrible service. I don't like to be this harsh in rating a restaurant but everyone at the table felt this way. Avoid this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were there with friends, total of 8 sitting at a big nice round table.
Manager was very helpful as we really wanted to sit at a round table. We enjoyed sharing several appetizers, all very good and we had different kind of fishes as main course.
Nice atmosphere.
Will go back and will suggest it to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusannaM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Highs and Lows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a Living Social coupon and had to present it when seated. The regular menu was taken away and in it's place was a smaller menu, much smaller. Very limited choices. The food was good, had the branzino, but was a miniscule portion. Enough for a child. You had a choice of 1 of 2 appetizers, 1 of 3 entrees and 1 of 2 desserts. It did come with a bottle of wine. That would have been fine except for the fact that the noise level was ridiculous. I had been there during the week my previous time and it was fine but this was Saturday night and I couldn't hear my husband talking next to me.
I don't know if I'd go back, even with a coupon. I feel there are other Greek restaurants in that price range that are better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ListWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassa also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing