We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thalassa knows how to get it done”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thalassa

Thalassa
Reserve with OpenTable
Thalassa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,270 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Greenwich and Hudson Street
Transit: 1 Train to Franklin Street A, C, E to Canal Street
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Thalassa knows how to get it done”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Held a private party for about 100 people at Thalassa and had a wonderful experience. The food is great and has a wonderful taste. The space is beautiful and the staff knowledgeable, friendly and went above and beyond to meet our needs. Everything was as we had expected and all of our guests were pleasantly surprised and couldn't stop commenting on how great the place was. Look forward to returning for dinner soon. Thanks to Tasso and the crew for making us feel so welcome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant and welcoming”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were impressed that a place with such impressive architecture was so friendly and welcoming.The fresh fish was perfect, the feta in the horiatiki (Greek) salad was abundant, moist and delicious, lamb chops were nicely grilled. Best of all, was the waiter's recommendation for wine a well priced red from Hatzimichalis, a name I can pronounce!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Waited for a special occasion to go the Thalassa. The atmosphere is inviting however, the waiter was arrogant and rude to my friend. The food was unspectacular and I question if the fish that we ordered was actually what we received. Each of us had three different types of fish and all three plates looked the same, like flounder.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamster009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went there last night. (2/6/13) We took advantage of NYC's Restaurant Week. A 3 course meal for 38 dollars. Not only that but they honored a 20 dollar voucher my girlfriend had.

Food was excellent as was the service. She had Mediterranean Sea Bass and I had Lamb chops. Both were excellent. Our waiter and the other staff members were quite friendly. We both hope to go there again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor tucked away in Tribeca”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Terrific seafood Mediterranean style. Attentive service, lovely ambiance, reasonably priced for the quality and originality of the menu offerings. Left for less than $200 for two with martinis and a bottle of wine. would definitely recommend as an alternative to the high priced 5 star dining options of most of the hotels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotton52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassa also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing