We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasent surprise”
Review of Cafe Loup

Cafe Loup
Ranked #3,193 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: French, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Village
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A pleasent surprise”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have known this restaurant for a friend who lives in NY otherwise is a place hard to find for a tourist. I enjoyed so much the food and the french wine. I ordered mussels, a big plate with french fries very recommended also desserts. I liked very much the day we went was no so crowded as many places in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
310 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“nice in many ways”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I hadn't been here in years, but we went last night and it was lovely. The food and the service were very good. It's always been a friendly place with a casual atmosphere and some good bistro food. The pate was wonderful and the steak was delicious. The crowd is lively and it gets a bit loud. The restrooms need to be redone. Overall, it's a cozy, comfortable neighborhood restaurant. It's always very good and a little more work would make it excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
542 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Wish we had this restaurant in our neighborhood!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Cafe Loup was selected by relatives who live in the neighborhood and have been going there regularly for 10-15 years. Having now been, I can see why this is their favorite restaurant. It's upscale and elegant but unpretentious and not overpriced, busy with an energetic atmosphere but not overly noisy - you can carry on an easy conversation at the table without raising your voice but at the same time there’s enough ambient sound it feels quite private. We had the flounder which was recommended by the waiter (which our fellow diners said was "always recommended"), fish and chips, and grilled salmon. We didn't order any appetizers - there was no need as the food portions were abundant. The flounder came with a very attractive and tasty assortment of delicately prepared vegetables: red cabbage, broccoli, julienned carrots, mashed sweet potatoes, all nicely arranged and filling the entire plate. Everything's fabulous, very low key but done just right. For dessert, I had the flan – which was delicious. If we lived in NY we'd go there regularly too! They also have Sunday Jazz brunch which we would definitely try to plan into our schedule next time we visit NYC!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A constant in the Village”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good, hearty Belgian cuisine (especially the pomme frites), warm, welcoming atmosphere, great photos on the wall, friendly staff (many of whom have worked there quite a while). What's not to like? It's beyond comfortable and comforting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the Village as you might have wished”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Always ask if Ardes Quinn is the maitre'd. Wife of the owner and first chef - an extraordinary
woman with amazing poise and charm and style. Interestingly, many of the staff have been here
quite a LONG time. (Ask about the boys with "the blog!" YOU could be a sketch?) A bar that
does not "break the bank," and a menu that continues to delight years later: "catfish! REALLY?"
Smile at the busers and the lovely man who says "very hot plate..." and feel as though you
are 3 centuries in the past. Strongly recommend the "prix fixe." GREAT value. (And do NOT
hesitate about "doggy bags," to hell with "Fido." Cut that incredible bread up and toast for the
next morning's breakfast treat - wonderful! And the buser WINKS! Welcome to OLDE New York... TODAY.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanSullivan997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loup also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing