We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Cheese Stands Alone!”
Review of Murray's Cheese

Murray's Cheese
Order Online
Ranked #31 of 16,328 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcome to a fantasy park made of cheeses and gourmet delicacies like you've never witnessed. Do not go here hungry or you will have to hire someone to help you to a taxi with all of your purchases. A Greenwich Village landmark for almost 80 years, this market (sister of Murray's Cheesebar Restaurant), offers every kind of temptation associated with cheese and specialty foods. Just to sniff the air is intoxicating. Meats, gifts, jams, crackers, olives, cheese cutters, it goes on and on. You have to see this place. The perfect spot to find something to share at that party you're headed for. Indulge!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Murrays is legendary for their knowledge and selection of International cheeses - they deserve all the praise they get.

Do not leave this place before ordering the basic grilled cheese sandwich. Take it and walk down Bleeker with it. Akin to walking through Paris with a baguette, only cooler.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mojo_srq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

I was nearby Murray's so I stopped in to get a few items for my friends. The hardest thing was deciding with all the delicious options. I could have been there for hours!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We stopped in to Murray's Cheese to kill time waiting for friends to join us. My 16yo son loves to try new, interesting cheeses and this place was Nirvana for him! We ended up getting an old favorite and a new taste, at the suggestion of the knowledgeable person behind the counter. Add a fresh bagette and we had a tasty snack. So glad our hotel had a fridge!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank JeanineC484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

I go to Murray's Cheese regularly when I visit NYC. Love the ambience, and service is always excellent. Love the cheese selection and dinner menu suffices for my simple American palette. Have never had an experience at this restaurant that didn't meet expectations. I staple in my NYC dining experience - I'll be back.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wcdream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murray's Cheese also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Murray's Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing