We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Perfect Location to See All of New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Ranked #108 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Perfect Location to See All of New York”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this property in May 2014. It was a great experience all the way around. The front desk staff, were extremely friendly and remembered my name during my entire stay. The hotel is the perfect location on W 35th & 6th Ave - the subway is literally at the entrance. When I stay in NY, I always fly into JFK and take the Airtran / LIRR to get into the city. The hotel is a short 5 - 10 min walk Penn Station.

The room was slightly above average on space in NY, but the bathrooms are a great size. Very clean, great beds, and linens. If you're lucky, you'll get an amazing view of the Empire State Building.

There is also a rooftop bar at this property and it's pretty popular on the weekends. I stayed on the top floor of the hotel (Floor 17). I will warn you, I could hear the club / techno music from my room. It didn't keep me up, but it's certainly noticeable.

Overall, the best place to stay for a weekend with friends or your significant other. I would not recommend this to families with small children as this is a place for adults and working professionals.

Room Tip: If you're staying for a weekend - ask for any floor other than 17. The Rooftop bar music is noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Scott P,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you visit New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    257
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
277
168
32
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Celebrating my Partner's 40th Birthday. The hotel was located next to the subway. Which was very convenient seeing as though we were traveling with bags. As we arrive, we were upgraded to the Executive King complimentary of the hotel. We stay on the 17th floor in room 11. The view was amazing. The room was perfect for two.

They also have The Rooftop lounge, great for picture taking.

Excellent customer service from:

Front Desk, the Security, Housekeeping and last but now least. The security guys at the lounge.


Thank you

A Returning guest

Room Tip: Room 1711. Corner room with great views of Macy's and Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bdrizzle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Bdrizzle30,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to celebrate the special occasion with you. We look forward to being your hotel of choice in New York. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Clean modern rooms--good location.....Macy's within eyesight! A lounge on the roof with awesome views of The Empire State Building. Michael, the concierge was super friendly and very helpful with restaurant choices. Hotel staff and security were also helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear SwissGrammy,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our associates were helpful to you. I will certainly pass along the accolades to the team. We look forward to being your hotel of choice in New York and welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here over night after a broadway show. Very helpful staff, great new rooms which were small but the layout didn't make you feel crowded in. Highly recommend. Very close to Penn Station with plenty to do & see close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieMac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear LeslieMac23,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay even if it was only for one night. We look forward to having you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a nice hotel....nice rooms and extremely convenient to subway entrance....steps form the lobby door....staff was very helpful and polite. Better value than staying in pricey times square hotels....modern rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed.

Room Tip: higher rooms offer nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear bartpic,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am very happy to hear that you both enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will be happy to have you back again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is located right in the heart of Manhattan. You can find shops like Macy's, McDonalds, Starbucks, Duane Reade, souvenir shops, a number of restaurants etc within a few footsteps away from the hotel.

We had 2 rooms - one with a king bed and one with 2 queen beds. The room with 2 queen beds was relatively small but it had almost all the things we needed (e.g. a huge TV, coffee maker, wardrobe, hair dryer) and the beds were quite comfortable. One thing to note: there was no kettle or complimentary bottled water in the room. But we were able to get mineral water from Duane Reade across the street. We stayed on the 5th floor of this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised that we could not hear any noises coming from the streets - hence, we were able to have a peaceful sleep at night. The staff in the hotel were all very polite and helpful. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnieme323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear minnieme323,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will gladly be your hotel of choice in New York. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Marriott Courtyard Herald Square is relatively new and conveniently located off Herald Square - just a few blocks from Penn Station - and close to several subway stations.
The rooms are comfortable - but you will want a room on the outside facing the street and Herald Square.
There is a lounge on the roof and small cafeteria-like restaurant for breakfast or lunch - but not really designed for in-hotel dining.
The rates are a little pricey - so shop for sales.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas71, Operations Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear riny,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Herald Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#110 of 467 in New York City
834 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#95 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#62 of 467 in New York City
618 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#139 of 467 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Address: 71 W 35th St, at 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square, one of the newest hotels in Midtown Manhattan NYC. Conveniently located in the heart of New York City near the famous Macy's Herald Square, this inviting hotel in Midtown Manhattan provides a contemporary retreat. The state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is Table 71 Herald Square, your unique destination among Midtown Manhattan hotels for a great breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee.You will also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout our accommodations and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped Midtown Manhattan NYC hotel fitness center will keep you fit and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at our hotel in Midtown Manhattan NYC is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing