We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wife's NYC Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Richfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Wife's NYC Birthday”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to NYC as my wife's "Bucket List" includes a December visit to see all the lights/decorations, and of course shop. We stayed at the SpringHill Suites for the location and for being a Marriott property. We arrived to a very friendly checkin staff who were very helpful in answering all our questions. Our room was pristine and the cleaning staff was very efficient and friendly! The hotel is only a few short blocks to Times Square as it is located on West 37th Street between 5th & 6th Ave. Also, only about 4 short blocks to Macy's. We were able to walk to our favorite restaurants in Manhatten and took a cab to visit the Freedom Tower which is very impressive. On our last vist there was only a large hole where the tower now stands. We would highly recommend this SpringHill Suites Hotel for it's value, friendliness, cleanliness and the very complete breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good Morning Bruce H

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stya went, and a big Happy Birthday to your wife. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all the hotel has to offer. Than yo for the kind comments as well. The staff is truly great and their friendliness is osmething our guest have come to expect whent hey stay here. I agree our locations is great and easily acessible to a wide range of sites and shopping.

We hope your Hoildays are great and look forward to your next birthday trip to NYC.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    402
    80
    16
    11
See reviews for
308
344
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived in New York from London on 10th December and got a taxi from Newark to the apartment in midtown Manhattan that we had previously booked on line. It turned out to be in a dreadful part of town, and not at all suitable for 2 ladies on their own in New York! So at 9.00pm (2,00am UK time), we were trudging the streets trying to find a hotel for the night. After 5 failed attempts we found the SpringHills. We were greeted by a cheerful and helpful Sherrie on reception, and asked to see a room which we fell in love with immediately. By 10.30pm we returned with our luggage tired and tearful!! (Big, big thanks to Marvin on the door for urging us to make sure we got the $1000 we'd paid in cash to the owner returned in full before we left.Thanks Marvin xxxx ). We have both been to New York previously, staying in expensive hotels nearby. However, we just just loved every minute of the 4 days spent there. Lovely spacious room, with wonderfully comfortable beds, and walk in shower. Great central location. Most important of all were the staff. You are all fantastic. Our thanks especially to Lisa (who would make a wonderful concierge, (management take note), and her colleague Crystal, who were especially helpful and courteous. Also Jeffrey in the dining room. Thanks to all you guys for turning a disaster into our best ever trip to New York. xxxx We would definitely recommend this hotel, and plan to stay again. PS: the free breakfast and wifi were a definite bonus!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Good Morning Angela C

Thank you for taking the time to writeto us about your stay. Seems like what started as a tough begining ended on a very high note. We have shared your review with all the staff and they were very thankful. I am so glad that the staff went out of their way to make sure you were taken care of and show you what NYC hospitality is all about. Marvin is truly an asset and makes going out of his way to help our guests his second nature. The team in the F&B area, Lisa, Crystal, and Jeffery really make you feel like your family when you have breakfast with them.

We hope you come back soon and thank you again for letting us know that we helped make a great vacation for you happen!

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day trip to New York City to catch some shows and do some holiday sightseeing. Chose this hotel because I had Marriott points. Glad I did. The location is between 5th Ave and Broadway on 37th. Easy to get to EVERYWHERE. 10 minute walk to Time Square, Broadway theaters, Macy's. The entire staff deserve kudos; front desk helpful at check in, recommendations for desserts, directions, etc. Door man is such a classy gentleman and sweetheart. Housekeeping wonderful and helpful. Food and Beverage - Jeffrey, Crystal and Lisa are the best. From the first morning we met to the moment we checked out, the three were so polite, friendly and accommodating. Customer service is number 1 with the entire hotel. I have travelled a lot on business and I have to say this is one of the best, if not the best, in customer service, friendliness and making their guests feel welcome. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends. Thank you so much for a great experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views..12 and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear TandD99

What a great reivew. Thank you for letting us know that you had a great experience at our hotel. I agree with you that our staff is among the best in the city. The team in the breakfast area realy take wonderful care of our guests and make sure everyone is happy. They enjoyed your comments and were excited to see their names mentioned.

The hotel location as you said is really a great feature and makes getting around the city easy and simple.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your return trip.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel during the entire week of Thanksgiving. We got upgraded to a room with a view of the Empire State Building and they also upgraded our second room for our teenage children! The service was IMPECCABLE. The staff was so helpful and housekeeping was over the top polite and accommodating. The rooms were LARGE for NYC and absolutely SPOTLESS- so clean!! . The free breakfast was excellent! Upon leaving for home, we got to he airport and my husband left his main suitcase in the lobby. The hotel put it in a tax and rushed it to JFK!! If I could give is place a million stars I would. We will definitely be back!!! Thank you so much for making our vacation a memorable one!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RMays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear RMays12

Thank you for writing a wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad we were abel to get your bag to you on time for your flight. The staff here is great and they make going above and beyond a common practice. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything exceeding your expectations.

I have shared your comments with the staff and they are appreciative of your comments. We hope on your return trip that you stay again and that you have a great holiday season!

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hotel is fairly new and very comfortable. I had a room with 2 beds which was good-sized, BUT is most likely bigger than the room with just the king bed - I can't speak to the size of the King bed room but imagine it was much smaller. I liked my room very much and it had a great view of the Empire State Building. And the windows opened a crack so you could have some outside airflow which was nice.

The hotel is a very narrow building with multiple floors and only a handful of rooms per floor. Which brings me to my main gripe with the hotel - the elevators. The 2 elevators are really not enough for this many floors but will do in a pinch. However, it seems they have been having recurring issues with one of the elevators going out of service. When only 1 elevator is working this creates chaos and long waits particularly at Sunday checkout time.

I tried the breakfast one morning and have to say I was unimpressed. Typically I don't eat complimentary breakfasts in NY hotels like the Springhill as there is much better food to be found elsewhere and I am more than willing to pay for a good meal. I only ate the hotel breakfast as I was short on time and wanted to spend more time in the City. So if you have time eat outside the hotel or eat cereal/danish.

The staff was pleasant and the location couldn't have been better. I would stay here again and recommend to others understanding the breakfast and elevator caveats - which in my opinion weren't that bad, but the reason the hotel didn't get 5 stars in my opinion.

Room Tip: Room with 2 beds facing the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_Travelers_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Good Morning LA_Travelers_1

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I want to apologize for the inconvenience of one of our elevators being down during your stay. Unfortunaltely there was a problem with it and resulted in it being down for the majority of the morning. Having only two elevators and one going down did disrupt the morning, but I appreciate your understanding, and I was glad that we got it back up by noon.

Thank you for he kind comments about the rest of your stay. The hotel really is in a great location and many people find it is a great place to have a home base as they explore the city.

I have shared your comments with the staff so that they can be better prepared in situations such as this and ensure all of our guests have a pleasnat stay.

Thank you again and I hope on your next trip to NYC you return and give the hotel another try.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in the Christmas season in New York. This hotel was a great choice for us, because most of the things we wanted to do were in midtown. The location could not be better with less than a ten minute walk from Herald Square, Time Square, Broadway shows, Grand Central Station, and Penn Station. The room was clean and tastefully appointed. The room had just enough space, but was not spacious (but better than any reasonable hotel room in Paris). Our room was in the back on the 4th floor so we had an excellent view of the air shaft (no big deal). The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. The service was superb. I called the day prior to our arrival to request early check in. We arrived at 11:00 a.m., and they had a room ready for us. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was more than adequate, especially considering what a breakfast would cost in Manhattan. I did not take advantage of the fitness center or laundry, but they were a definite plus.

Room Tip: 406 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandpere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Grandpere

Happy Holidays and thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed staying with us while in NYC. For the holidays we are a great location being steps form Herald Square and Macys as well as a short walk to Rockerfeller Center. I am glad we were able to honor your request to check in early. The staff are amazing and understand that after a day of travelling no one wnats to wait for a room.

Breakfast is a great way to start the day and Im glad you were able to parteke in it and find it meeting your expectations.

I hope the rest of your Holidays are great and we look forward to your return.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great location to help celebrate my wife' birthday!!! Everyone was very helpful especially the staff. Front desk clerk Carlene was especially helpful and kind!! Hotel in walking distance of great restaurants, Times Square, Bryant Park, and the Theatre District!!!l I highly recommend this state of the art hotel with its friendly staff!!!! The staff destroys all the myths about the unfriendly people in the big apple.....watch out for those yellow cabs!!!

IV

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IV S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillSuitesNYC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear IV S

Happy Birthday to your Wife! Sounds like you had a great stay with us nadan even better Birthday Celebration. Carlene is the best and I am glad you recognized her. We have showed her the reivew and she was excited that she helped contribute your stay. Our staff does a great job and always willing to go the extra mile for our guests.

Thank you again and we hope to see you for the next Birthday.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#246 of 467 in New York City
612 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 467 in New York City
745 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#169 of 467 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#197 of 467 in New York City
2,366 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#153 of 467 in New York City
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 25 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing