We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh ingredients, simply delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 83 1/2 Restaurant

83 1/2 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
83 1/2 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,461 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New Jersey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients, simply delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We heard about 83 1/2 through a Groupon. I'm usually cautious of these coupons but based on the Yelp reviews, I figured we would try it. The restaurant is small and the tables are slightly cramped, but overall a cute space. The restaurant was extremely packed. They were over whelmed with the Groupon response which meant very slow service.
We began with fresh Bellini's and crusty Italian bread with a delicious dipping sauce. We tried an extra entree of eggs with homemade gnocchi and truffle oil. This dish was different and exquisite. We followed up with the eggs Benedict served with polenta hash-just right. If it wasn't for the service hiccup, it would have been the perfect experience. The server did explain the situation and was very apologetic. Based on the quality ingredients and creative dishes, we will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Idania60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good service, NOT good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Went there on 4/12/14 with one of my best friends for a casual night out. Even when we didn't have reservation the host was very nice and explained they were fully booked but one of the tables was running late and if they didn't get there in 15 min the table was our, so we waited and we got the table. The waiter was very polite and suggested a good wine to accompany our food but the food itself was a big disappointment, I ordered the pesce di giorno and my friend ordered the fettuccine frutti dil mare , the fish was over cooked and the pasta lacked flavor ... For the price tag of their dishes they need to start doing a much much better job in the kitchen. I tipped very generously and was pure based on the staff service NOT the food.

Helpful?
2 Thank JussepNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great neck n.y.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a glittering star on the upper east side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Tucked away on 83RD st, is a little gem that serves beautifully prepared food and also has a great little wine list.The space was originally under a different name however with a new chef and a fresh menu ,this place will shine.Food is fresh, well prepared and portions are well sized.Fresh bread is constantly brought out and the staff are friendly and willing to help if asked.We were a party of four and both fish and pasta was ordered and we were not disappointed. Desserts are all home made and were excellent, particularly the tiramasui which in other restaurants usually appears as a small after thought.This was a large portion,fresh and very tasty.Highly recommended for those who do not want to be seated around the typical East side people watching clientele.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were looking for a perfect NYC Italian dinner and we found it here. Using a Groupon we ventured to this quaint restaurant to enjoy an amazing meal. We enjoyed an amazing salad, followed by exquisite entrees. I enjoyed melt-in-your mouth gnocchi and my daughter ravioli. I am still dreaming about the wonderful tastes.
I do recommend reserving. Because we did not, we were seated in less desirable seats - even though the restaurant was empty. (management take note)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuaregroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
328 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“83 1/2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went here with my wife and another couple on Saturday night. Nice little restaurant on 83rd between 1st and 2nd. We had reservations. Seated immediately. Pretty much a full house.
Small bottled wine selection, all Italians. Ordered a bottle of red on our waiter's advice....didn't like it and we picked another. No hassles. Second one was a nice red.
Ordered tricolor salads. Nice. Light vinaigrette. All 4 of us ordered different main meals....cornish hen, whole fish (striped bass), bucotini all' Amatriciana, linguine with shrimp & cherry tomatoes. All were very good. Filling. Didn't have room for dessert.
Took a little while for our main dishes to come....but relaxing dinner. Never felt rushed.
I'd go back. Reasonably priced

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 83 1/2 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 83 1/2 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing