We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accept no substitutes!”
Review of Just Salad

Just Salad
Ranked #1,879 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Accept no substitutes!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just Salad looks like a lot of other places in the neighborhood, but it is several steps above in quality. Their salads are freshly made, interesting and delicious, and the service is efficient and friendly. Try a kale salad. Even if you don't think you like kale, this place may change your mind!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will make you appreciate salad”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were just looking for somewhere to pick up something quick for lunch when we happened upon Just Salad in Rock Center. This turned out to be one of the better meals we had in New York, and healthy to boot! With the number of ingredient choices and the freshness of the ingredients used it is understandable that it would take a large volume of diners to support a restaurant like this, probably why there aren't locations in many areas already. According to their website they only have stores in NY and Hong Kong, but franchises are available so maybe someday... The prices seem to be in line with other NY lunch options and it was good to have a healthier option available. The only drawback at this location was a scarcity of seating, only a few seats in the restaurant and the common seating at Rock Center fills quickly so expect to grab and run. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just Salad is great for health and taste buds!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The service here was great. I was immediately accosted by a manager as I waited to choose my order. I asked about the ingredients in the foods as I was wondering about which were gluten free, vegetarian, and non-dairy. I was promptly told by the manager to wait while the information was quickly verified and checked for accuracy. I liked the fact that it was checked into not just answered carelessly.
The foods were sumptuous looking, I chose a low calorie salad as I am a weight watcher. I picked lots of fresh greens, low cal additions like egg whites, asparagus vinegar dressing. Of course you can go a bit more high calorie with meat toppings, cheese toppings etc. They ask you if you want the salad chopped which I did. It made a really enjoyable bite sized huge salad with virtually no calories and a moderate priced meal. There are lots of soups to choose from and tasty low calorie salads and wraps. There's something here delicious for all diet requirements and great for weight watchers. This is my favorite salad bar by far.
The place was clean and cheerful looking. I went at a time that was not high in customer traffic so that I could enjoy the bright and appropriately lit atmosphere. Employees were sweeping floors as I ate so I thought they stayed on top of cleanliness. The salad, soup, and wraps were nicely arranged without a mess or disorganization appearing clean. Employees were wearing gloves (at least when I was there).
I liked the clean looking low calorie options, as I'm a weight watcher, as well as the individual salad items not being jumbled up and accidentally mixed in together. I wasn't crazy about paying the bill, but it definitely is better than other high priced places and better than lower priced salmonella laden items that sit there looking bacteria filled all day long. Another thing I could do without was a bit of disarray in the bathroom, but it was the end of the day and it could be the customer's fault too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginger939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury, mn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great quick service, fresh meal!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a great place for a fresh, custom salad. I was travelling with a few others and we all went to different venues to try some food, and met back at some nearby tables to compare. Mine was the winner! Huge salad assembled in front of you, then chopped to your liking, and then salad dressing mixed in while you watch. Wish they had more of these franchises across the country.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AWESOME salad and choices”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ok, this is not the cheapest place to get a salad. But the salad is amazing. You can put SO many different toppings on there and some awesome meat. I had steak and a lot of veggies. Also the yogurt dressing is great. I will definitely have that again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just Salad also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Just Salad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing