We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“broadway meets the circus!”
Review of Pippin The Musical - CLOSED

Pippin The Musical
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“broadway meets the circus!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

i heard about this classic musical for years im happy i got a chance to see it saturday night omg this show rocks and the theater is small but the production is so grand, and the circus part of it makes the show even more exciting as the story unfolds. if you love musicals this show is a MUST SEE! AND YOU WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN GO SEE PIPPIN

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank leomartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    149
    75
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Musical”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Wow. Not sure what to say except that I LOVED this show, and it blew my mind. I've seen a lot of Broadway shows and this bumped up to be my new favorite.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mooshoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved this revival!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We loved this revival of the old Musical from the 70's! The performance was outstanding and very entertaining. One of our favorites!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetogoAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Show -- Go See It -- But Watch Where You Sit”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was ready to skip this show since I saw the original almost 40 years ago and it was quite a dull show then. This current revival is a vast improvement thanks to the creativity of director Diane Paulus. It features the (well deserved) Tony award winning performance of narrator Patina Miller, plus many talented singers and dancers mixed in with Cirque du Soleil acrobatics and magic. The choreography is high energy, Bob Fosse style. In short, it is a tour de force, a magical evening of theater brilliantly staged. A delight that will leave you smiling as you exit the theater. We saw three shows in New York this week and this was definitely the best.

Tip: Don't do what we did and buy seats in the first row of the orchestra. Our seats were so close and low (and the stage was so high) that these seats cut off the view of the dancers' feet and even cut off the view of the floor in the center stage (where a magic trick happens). So, don't buy any tickets closer than the 6th or 7th row from the front of the orchestra. You will also want to stick to center orchestra since there is partial view from the side orchestra seats. I am told the side balcony seats are also partial view. For the amount that you pay, you deserve a full view of the stage.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWSOME!!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

If you like Musicals, if you like Fosse, if you like great talent and a great show, go see Pippin, the best show in town! Saw it twice in a week!!!

Helpful?
Thank FedericoDiazAlberdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pippin The Musical also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing