We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Circus Atmoshere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pippin The Musical - CLOSED

Pippin The Musical
Attraction details
Honolulu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Circus Atmoshere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very fast moving circus style acts. Musical is great, but I would not take young childrenh because of many adult type scenes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanapepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    149
    75
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Grabbed us on many levels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

MY wife and I bought reduced tickets at TKTS having no idea what to expect - we're not theater-types, but have seen a few over the years - and were blown away. Amazing circus acts - once I saw Circe De Soleil actors were in it - it made sense. Great humor, with sarcasm, and a story line that was not very deep, but moving at the end. Some of the ADHD types (including myself) may snooze a little in the second act, but overall excellent. Was not what I expected and was very glad we stumbled upon it!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing show- loved the singing acting and dancing- blew me away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Had no idea what to expect with this show. Husband and I really enjoyed the show- plot was interesting - liked the injection of humour. Great dancing and aerial stunts. Met Pippins understudy the previous day at The Spotted Pig- he was charming and very talented.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nlwalshfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
335 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Excellent spectacle that peters out by Act 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I went because an aerialist friend was performing, and Act 1 is chock full of eye-popping circus spectacle -- instead of the Bob Fosse dance choreography from the original. But Act 2 loses all that energy, gets bogged down in soppy songs and a who-cares plot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A sight to see, but what's with the second act?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staging is beautiful and engaging. I loved the circus setting and the performers were top notch. In particular, Andrea Martin stood out, for me. I had never seen Pippin, so I am not sure if there were changes, but the second act seemed disconnected to me. I am sure there was some deeper meaning that I missed, but it kind of halted the overall enjoyment from the first act. I would go again (but I might think of leaving at intermission).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pippin The Musical also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing