We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motown The Musical on Broadway - MOVED

Motown The Musical on Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MOTOWN: THE MUSICAL is the real story of the one-of-a-kind sound that hit the airwaves in 1959 and changed our culture forever. This exhilarating show charts Motown Founder Berry Gordy's incredible journey from featherweight boxer to the heavyweight music mogul who launched the careers of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson, Marvin Gaye, and so many more.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you appreciate and love the Motown sound this is a must see production for you!

From the opening number to the close of the show the music keeps you moving, grooving and it's hard to stay still in your seats. The singing and dance numbers are spectacular! The set and productions is amazing!!

Everyone leaves the theatre with spirits high and smiles on their faces.

Superb show!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Happy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,536
    429
    131
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“And then there was MICHAEL JACKSON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved this Musical, as I loved the sounds of Motown and the contribution by Barry Gordy for the music industry of soul music. Included were the Diana Ross, who was the star of the show along with Barry Gordy. We all loved Michael Jackson and the Jackson 5. Rick James was ... well, you will have to see the play! Great and entertaining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhigh217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great evening's entertainment with talented musicians leaving you wanting more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great show for Motown fans and the ones who weren't lucky enough to grow up with this music genre! It is like an audio photo album if Berry Gordie's working life - you are swept through the history of Motown music - a criticism would be that by flicking through so many songs you feel cheated that you don't get to hear beyond the intro of
most of the many songs featured (but then the show would be 4 hours long!) However, there isn't a dull moment, there's light hearted humour, and great sounds, costumes and you leave the theatre on a high, singing the songs and "Dancing in the Street". I'd go back to see this anytime!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LorTayEgham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice voices and score.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Being in our late 60's my wife and I enjoyed the music and remember all the players in this story. Its up there with MA MA Mia and JERSEY BOYS. .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbirdhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You'll be dancing in your seat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

along with everyone else at this show. If you like Motown music, and who doesn't, you'll have a lot of fun. It' as simple as 1-2-3, ABC, just get a ticket and have a great night out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank leslie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motown The Musical on Broadway also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing