We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Ranked #100 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the great service, decent rooms and perfect location of this Herald Square Best Western. Based on some of the other reviews, I wasn't expecting the staff to be very friendly or knowledgeable of the area. The price point for the room was very favorable so I wasn't concerned, but I have to say everyone I dealt with there was friendly, helpful and went the extra mile. Three different individuals at the desk over the 5 nights I was there provided great restaurants, directions and helpful tips. I'd had 13 boxes of varying size sent beforehand for a convention and one of the gentlemen there brought them up from storage and helped load them. The location was great. Penn Station and subways to all parts of the city were just a few minutes away. They also have a Citibike location right around the corner where you can use the bikes and drop off at different locations around the city. It was way too cold for us to take advantage of, but liked the convenience. We were fortunate to have a room on the top floor with a view to the north. If available, I definitely recommend a higher room. The views are vey nice. We ate breakfast there each morning...nice assortment of both hot and cold breakfast items and it definitely saved us on eating breakfast out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicted2Travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with everyone on Trip Advisor. What a great pleasure to know that you had a great time. You've pointed out a few of our features that make us a special hotel like our guest rooms and excellent service. We must agree with you on our location...truly unsurpassed in the city.We are pleased to have fulfilled your requests, our entire team is dedicated to our guests and to please you and just let you enjoy your stay with us is our mission.

Thank you again! We look forward to your next visit to the Best Western Premier Herald Square, NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    621
    123
    27
    9
See reviews for
600
490
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Small clean hotel ideally located for getting around for New York for a group of 7 first timers girlies celebrating birthdays, small room but apparently common in NY but comfy beds even with sharing not a problem, helpful staff, secure clean nice little bar and breakfast included would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Happy Birthday to all "girlies" who celebrated their birthdays at the Best Western Premier Herald Square, NYC.
We appreciate your feedback and review of our hotel. We are happy you all enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We are glad that you all took advantage of our nice and cozy Bar and Hot Complimentary Breakfast. We are also glad that you found our staff cheerful and helpful during your stay.

We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My son and wife spent 5 days during the Big East Tourney at Madison Garden. The Best Western at Herald Square was very close to the Garden as well to central NYC. We traveled by foot as well by the Metro. The hotel was clean and all expectations were fulfilled. We would be likely to return to this hotel the next time come in New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you stayed with us along with your son and wife and enjoyed staying at the Best Western Premier Herald Square during the Big East Tourney at Madison Garden.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to having you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I recently stayed at the Best Western Premier in New York City for five days. I found it very comfortable and, to use a pun, quite 'accommodating.' I'm glad I gave it a whirl.

It is a new hotel...so it's clean, bright, pleasant, attractive. It's very centrally located in Herald Square. This is not the "hot spot" for dining. But, if you walk a few blocks up or down the street you can find wonderful restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. And, the walk will do you good!

The rooms are definitely small. So, you'll have to organize yourself. I kept losing things. But, I kept finding them again as well.

Breakfasts are, well, not for someone like me who likes health food. But, they're adequate and a lot of people who are less fussier seemed perfectly happy.

I got a great price for booking five nights. The staff was friendly, helpful, always courteous. The weather was FREEZING and the heat in the room worked well. There is no real lobby to speak of. But, I wasn't there to socialize. So, that was fine with me.

All in all, while it's not the Ritz Carlton, it's a great mid-level hotel that is immaculately clean and very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are with someone else, by all means get a larger room. I saw some from the outside and they l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april_august2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Modern clean hotel in the very center on NYC, close to everything.
Convenient location- in few steps from Empire state, Macy's, 5 mins of walk to Times square, perfect for sightseeing and shopping. In few blocks from Penn station - start for both JFK and Newark airports.
First we received the room facing the backyard with small window and bad smell of food from outside. It was really terrible for us because we got used to sleep with the open windows but they changed the room upon our first demand without any problems. Finally we were happy to receive the room on 13th floor with wall-sized window and nice street view, typical for NYC. Room is small but OK for NY stardards, nicely designed. Everything is modern and clean, but do not expect much - it's quite typical and simple.
Complimentary breakfast and coffee/tee through the whole day. But for me standart budget USA breakfasts have almost nothing to eat - just cereals and fruits are OK, everything else, even bread and pastries, are absolutely uneatable.
We had problems with wifi on all non-apple devices.
For 2 persons they places only 1 set of small shampoo/conditioner bottles and it wasn't replaced for 3 days.
Actually you can choose this hotel with no doubts if you have a good deal -it's really OK for NYC with its extremely high prices. But as for me - for my next stay I will look for something else - this hotel is good but enough to stay only once.

Room Tip: Street view - the windows are soundproof and your sleep will not be disturbed but the view is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale,fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is new, so it is very clean. The breakfast room is a little small and not very welcoming, due to the fact that it is underground with no window. The staff was professional. The bedrooms are small. The localisation makes it a good hotel to visit New York for two or three days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank atrinquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. It is very gratifying to know that the friendliness and professionalism of our team members was noticed along with the Location and the cleanliness of our facilities.

We definately look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

New, Clean, and well maintained. An easy subway ride to Times Square and the theater. Stayed two nights. Room small, but by new york standards, well designed and comfortable. Do not plan on hanging many clothes in the small closet. Suitcases also will have to be stacked in the corner. All and all a good experience. It was my second stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ashikogail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are proud of our staff and it is great to hear that they are delivering excellent service and providing superb cleanliness guests can expect while staying with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us every time you visit NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing