We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The rooms are small but they have everything you could need, are nicely decorating, clean and new and in a perfect location! We booked a twin room and it hard two double beds which didn't leave much floor space but they managed to fit in enough storage to put everything and store our suitcases without falling over them.

The free breakfast is great, saves time and money. The breakfast room was busy but we always got a table and there was always plenty of food. They had bread/toast/bagels, cereals, porridge, scrambled eggs, bacon, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, juices and tea/coffee.

The staff were friendly and helpful, I stayed here for five nights so I think I probably met most of them!

We were able to book a car back to the airport through reception at a fixed rate which was great. The car turned up on time - early in fact and we got to the airport without worrying how much the fare was going to be especially as traffic was bad the whole way!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. We're glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and our team, specially our Grand Hot Breakfast Buffet.Thank you and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Premier Herald Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Contrary to what other reviews have stated, this is not a particularly tiny hotel room for New York. I stayed at this hotel last weekend and shared a room with my daughter and son-in-law. We were all very comfortable. If I had any complaint, it was that the bed pillows were too full and firm (I like a flat pillow). Why is anyone spending more than sleeping time in a hotel room in NYC anyway? The hotel serves a filling breakfast - they provide a variety of hot items as well as cereal, rolls, fruit and bagels.

Most importantly, the desk clerks were completely charming and very helpful. I can't say enough for them. They directed us to several eateries and were more than happy to give directions when we asked. The location is very good and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: We actually had a room on the street but it is not a very busy street and there was little noise. I...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be clean and comfortable. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, they always stive to provide a great experience for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our Grand Hot Breakfast Buffett Thank you and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time in New York ( although have lived in big cities before) and we chose this hotel, as it was modern, new and had a good location. We got a fairly good price compared to similar hotels (all expensive). The room was small but adequate for our 4 days, the only real problem was that there seemed to be odd beds in the room - it was shorter than any other other king bed, and my husbands feet hung off the end (6ft6"). I think this was because the room was so small. We were on a high floor and had a view out our window of the empire state building which was really nice, and there were good places to eat and the location was very central - only a short walk to times square. The breakfast was pretty awful, they kept running out - the dinning room had far to few tables for the size of hotel, the cooked food (eggs / bacon) was very low quality - not what you would expect from this chain. Overall I would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: higher rooms get views past the next door buildings
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurobarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. It is very gratifying to know that the friendliness and professionalism of our team members was noticed along with the cleanliness of our facilities and rooms.We are sorry to hear that your experience at breakfast buffet was not up to the standard we set as a Premier Hotel. We at the Best Western Premier Herald Square take all our guest's suggestions and comments very seriously and we strive to always follow up and make any improvements or changes that are needed. We definitely look forward to your return visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location, helpful staff and reasonable rates. And some of the rooms on the highest floors have a gorgeous close-up view of the Empire State Building. The walls between suites allow too much sound transmission but there's one major problem that management of this fairly new hotel needs to address. There are loud clanking sounds emanating from the elevator shaft whenever the elevator stops. It is especially loud when the elevator stops on the floor your room is on. And it becomes quite noticeable when the 2 elevators start to get used early in the morning. I suspect the sound is caused by a cable slapping against the shaft or at least that's what it sounds like. Staff, who are aware of the issue, say that it is more noticeable on the higher floors. Sure hope management can remedy this problem because I'd really like to be able to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!
It is always great to hear nice comments about our staff .Our teams strive everyday to make you feel special, to make your experience privileged moments. We appreciate your feedback and have ensured that the issue with the elevator has been repaired.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation in NYC, if I were to go again, I would stay at the same location. Subway access was very near the hotel and time square and Empire State Building were very close! Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful anytime we had a question. The only thing I would ask is if the breakfast would stay open a little later...6-9:30 doesn't give much time for all guests to enjoy the breakfast. Overall I give this hotel a thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. Our location is unsurpassed and we are please that our location met your expectations.It is always great to hear nice comments about our staff . We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was my second visit to NYC and my wifes first, so we wanted to have a great experience at a great place and for a reasonable cost. This is sometimes hard to achieve but this wonderful little hotel made all our dreams come true!! Everything was clean, new and the service every where, (except for a couple of persons that help at the breakfast buffet) was excellent! The rooms are great, the beds comfortable, you are just blocks away from the most Iconic places of the city and have plentiful places to dine and shop just next door and everywhere! Dont miss the opportunity to visit New York City and stay in a clean, comfortable, nice and welcoming place virtually near eveything!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the 36th street the layout of the rooms is better and even though you dont have...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Our staff stives to provide a great experience for our guests. Thank you and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes, it's a convenient location, the hotel is in very good condition and we got a good rate on the room. But this was one of the tiniest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in (see picture, which is the entire room) and the breakfast wasn't much more than mediocre. The bed took up almost the entire room and we didn't even have room for two suitcases. We squeezed one of them into floor space in front of the window (thereby blocking access to one side of the bed) but could only get it to that location by rolling it between the bed and the desk. Fortunately the depth of the desk was so shallow (and not really usable) that we could get the suitcase through, but it cleared both pieces of furniture by about an inch. The bathroom was similarly very small. The breakfast choices were somewhat limited compared to what I think of as a comparable hotel, like a Holiday Inn Express. The sausages were inedible and the staff didn't refill serving platters until they were empty, so guests had to wait for food. We checked out in mid-morning but didn't have a flight until the evening, so the staff agreed to keep our bags while we did a little tourism during the day. When we returned to get our bags, they couldn't find one and I had to go into the luggage room myself to find it hidden under someone else's much larger and heavier bag.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have bigger rooms than the one we had, but definitely ask about room sizes.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback on trip advisor .We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, condition of our hotel and our rates. We do apologize and regret that you did not have a great experience at the hotel due to the size of your room. Please be noted that we are a Premier Boutique hotel in NYC and most of the Boutique Hotels in the City have similar or smaller size rooms. However, we do have Executive Suites on our top level floors. About your comments on our breakfast,rest assured we will be looking into this. We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#105 of 468 in New York City
742 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#188 of 468 in New York City
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#93 of 468 in New York City
4,175 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Herald Square

Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $162 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing