We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Ranked #100 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“New hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked the room several months in advance, even before it had reviews at Tripadviser. New and clean Hotel, excellent location in midtown Manhattan. Courteous service of the staff at reception, luggage storage and a dining room. Room is not spacious but there it is in New York. Good breakfast, coffee / tea for free use in the lobby.

Room Tip: We got a room in the 17th floor, room number 1714, from the window you can see the Empire State buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. Our location is unsurpassed and we are please that our location met your expectations. It is very gratifying to know that the friendliness and professionalism of our team members was noticed along with the quality of our breakfast and the cleanliness of our facilities We thank you for your business and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    621
    123
    27
    9
See reviews for
600
490
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed here for six nights and the best thing about this hotel is the location. Many places are within walking distance and the subway is nearby.
It is situated on a busy street which my room looked out onto. Despite being on a high floor it was still quite noisy.
As everyone says, the rooms are quite small but perfectly adequate. The beds are very comfortable.
I had no problem finding a table in the breakfast room and found there was a decent variety of food on offer.
The free wi fi was also very useful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21mira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid review of your stay with us. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed the unique size of our guest rooms with comfortable beds and our complimentary breakfast with a decent variety of food we offer. I'm also delighted to know you appreciate our close proximity to downtown attractions. I do thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights at Best Western Premier Herald Square and as first time visitors to NYC, we could not have picked a better location. It's on W. 36th street, which is close to everything. Penn St. is only a few blocks away, Macy's Herald Square is two blocks away, and almost all the subway lines can be easily reached from either the Penn St or Herald Square station. Very convenient. 

The hotel itself is new, very clean and comfortable. Love the modern design and green color theme in the room, which gives a fresh ambience.

Yes, the room is small, but after reading so many horrific hotel stories in NYC, we could not be happier with our choice. Good quality linen, Archive personal amenities, free Wi-fi, breakfast, and all-day coffee and tea.

All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, we received a lot of help with directions, the subway and storing of all our 6 bags upon check-out! All in all a perfect choice and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank classic_bobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We value all the feedback we receive from our guests and certainly no feedback is more valued than that of a frequent traveler such as you. We are very pleased that you noticed and appreciated the efforts of our team members and I'm delighted to know you appreciate our close proximity to many downtown attractions. Thank you again and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a great hotel, the staff was great from beginning to the end. the room was always clean. and the breakfast was more than I expected. It was a full breakfast each day, and a great staff, that were happy to get anything you might need. The rooms were tight, but with three in a room there was plenty of room for everything this was very close to everything, only blocks from time square, threater district, we walked to all of these sites. and if you needed a cab they were always near by or out front. I will keep this on my list to stay again

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 13th or higher floor. the view is worth it. and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your excellent experience with TripAdvisor. It is very gratifying to know that the friendliness and professionalism of our team members was noticed along with the quality of our breakfast and the cleanliness of our hotel. We definately look forward to your return visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Best Western Premier (BWP) is a midtown Manhattan hotel. The biggest plus of this hotel is it's great location near Macy's and the Empire State Building. Metro stops nearby and a lot of the tourist hotspots at walking distance. Hotel supplies free WiFi and a complementary breakfast. The breakfast has everything you need to start the day with your choice of cereal, different types of bread and bagels, eggs, fruit, etc.

Rooms aren't big, but pretty standard for a Manhattan hotel room. The look and feel of the room is great and rooms are well kept (in part because everything is new). The bed was VERY nice and comfortable. The hotel is located on a pretty quiet street in Manhattan, so city noise is kept to a minimum. Bathroom isn't big but has everything you need.

This hotel provided a great stay in Manhattan. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were able to utilize the amenities that our hotel has to offer specially free WiFi and an elaborate complementary hot breakfast. Our location is unsurpassed and we are please that our location met your expectations. We thank you for your business and hope to see you back at the Best Western Premier Herald Square next time you visit New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good location, nice staff, large and quiet room, good internet connection, reasonable price if you buy it at the last minute. It's midway between the Empire State B and Times Square. I can't complain about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krsto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! I am delighted that you were able to utilize some of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Also I am equally delighted to hear that our customer service went above your expectations. I hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was in a very noisy area. Outside noise could be heard and noise from the other rooms. Rooms were very small, but beds were comfortable. Hotel is new, so everything is in working order. Breakfast was typical Best Western and, therefore, not very exciting. Staff at front desk was disorganized and not helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ursula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our Best Western Premier Herald Square with travellers. I'm delighted to know you appreciated and enjoyed our Comfortable Beds. However,I apologize that your room did not met your expectations, we will be sure to reference your feedback during our next renovation. We hope that you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing