We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mirabel, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Last minute weekend getaway”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Location, location location...

Booked online last minute as we wanted to go to NYC for a night. I wasn't expecting to find such a great location at this low price. (I expect the price to rise as the hotel will get more popular for sure)

The Staff was super friendly and helpful, too bad i can't remember their names, everything was clean and fresh. I even wondered if the towels in the room were on their first use.

Room is a bit under the standard room size, however it didn't feel too small with the nice big windows.

The only thing, which i'm pretty sure it is fixed by now, i would have love to have chairs and tables on the small terrace in front of the hotel.

Will go again if the price stays right.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east or south have direct view of empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier-Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    653
    127
    28
    11
See reviews for
653
518
73
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked this hotel before it was open so I was a little nervous about what to expect. This is a new building and you can tell it's new inside as well. Front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful from the time we arrived till the time we left. Every morning they asked if we needed help for anything as we were leaving, did we need directions, subway routes, etc.

The room wasn't big but then I didn't expect it to be after all I'd read about hotel rooms in NY. It was plenty big and there was room on each side of the king size bed. The closet is really small, like twice the size of a locker, so don't plan on hanging a lot of clothes. Our room was on the 14th floor and faced 36th Street. We had a great view of the Chrysler Bldg and all the happenings along the street. It was really quiet, could hear very little street noise, not sure if it's like that on lower level rooms.

The hotel is advertised as being in Herald Square. It is right at Herald Square but the sign on the street said Fashion District. There are plenty of places to eat right around the hotel if you don't feel like walking far. Yes, there is a huge, free, continental breakfast. However, the pricing shows the cost is $10.99. I was told they were doing it free as an introductory special. I wouldn't pay that much to eat the breakfast but for free it was great. A couple of doors down is a brand new place called Pure Fresh. They offer all meals and have a great selection. It's super clean inside as they just opened.

The hotel will store your luggage for you if you have a later flight than checkout. No, there isn't bottled water in the rooms but I'm not sure why you'd need it. The tap water tasted good and is safe to drink. There is also coffee, tea, and ice water in the front lobby at all times.

There is a desktop computer and printer in the basement. Worked out great to be able to print boarding passes, etc. since I didn't bring my laptop. There is free wifi throughout the hotel as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.We are delighted to know you had such a good time and were pleased with the hotel. The entire team joins me to thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The staff were friendly, helpful and assisted me to find my way. The location is only about 10 minutes from Times Square and subway is close. I booked last minute and got a great rate. Rooms were adequate size for NYC and very clean. Will be happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondale75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We appreciate your positive comments about the property and staff. Thank you very much and we are looking forward to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was amazed at how quiet it was and comfortable. It was really easy to get around from this location and the hotel did a great job. The rooms are small like many in NYC but very functional and as it is a new place, exceptionally clean. My only recommendation is to provide bottled water in the guest rooms. I am a Rewards member and really missed that!

Room Tip: I imagine they are all very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halterp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
First of all we thank you for being our "Rewards Member" and yes we do take our guest's suggestions very seriously. Your suggestion about having "Water Bottles" in guest rooms are valid and consequently all are guest rooms now have water bottles. Thank you for your positive comments about the property and hope you see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great experience. New, clean. good location. Huge complimentary breakfast. Stayed here with teenaged grandchildren who managed to lock us out of one of the rooms. Laura and Mustafa at the front desk were friendly and very helpful. I did not think it was possible to stay somewhere this nice for the money. Best deal in Manhattan. Try it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our Assistant Front Office Manager "Mustafah" and our excellent front desk agent "Laura" they are very much appreciated. Also we thank you for your positive comments about our Best Western Premier Herald Square, NYC. We hope to see you and your family back soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Booked at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised to find a new hotel (three weeks) with everything working,free continental hot breakfast, and two double beds in a great location. Two families in a party of seven was able to travel with relative ease around the city. We stayed 4 nights. Staff very friendly and helpful, with a smile every morning.

Everything said earlier was very true, from the small but everything-new rooms to the quiet ac units. Free Internet made it very convenient for the kids to connect to friends back home at night. The linens are so clean and new that is amazing. And the staff is always wanting to help.

Our great vacation was a success thanks to this excellent hotel

Will look for this property next time I stay in NYC.

Room Tip: The hotel is near to the subway exit on 34 st and Herald Avenue, cross from Macy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raypaterno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you! It is very encouraging to read such positive feedback about our brand new hotel and its excellent staff members . We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Louis, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel that is new and clean, nice room. Not noisy.
Ideally located.
Coffee is free at any time. No fridge in the room = less noise.
A/C working with a reasonable noise.

Location is VERY convenient, between 5th and 6th av.
Penn Station at 34st nearby, Empire State next street, NYC bike rental nearby.

Reasonable price. Nice people working there. If I have to go back to NYC, sure, I will go there.

Room Tip: rooms behind gives a view on the Empire State building (I was 1205) and less noisy. There's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayed A, General Manager at Best Western Premier Herald Square, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to share your experience. We all at the Best Western Premier Herald Square are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#180 of 467 in New York City
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 467 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#82 of 467 in New York City
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Herald Square

Property: Best Western Premier Herald Square
Address: 50 W 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, toiletries, iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing