We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Matilda is great family fun for all ages”

Matilda The Musical
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Matilda is great family fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our family just saw this musical and laughed all the way through it--even my husband, who wasn't keen on going. The Schubert Theatre is smallish and just very pretty and charming. We sat in the mezzanine section and could see and hear very well. Loved the kids' performances in this production; they were simply wonderful. Also, Miss Trunchbull made us laugh and laugh. If you're looking for something funny, lively and uplifting with good music and great performances, go see this show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cruizntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    281
    111
    49
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful production!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were looking for a musical to see for our daughter's first Broadway experience and chose Matilda as it was for kids and my husband and I weren't familiar with it and we were looking to see something new for us too. What a wonderful choice!!! Can't say enough about how great the entire performance was! The theater was smaller that expected so it really gave it an intimate feel. We did have front row seats so that probably helped with our overall experience but would recommend this for anyone, any seat!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dinamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Outstanding!! Bravo!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

A must see--these child actors will make anyone stand up and cheer!! They are committed to their roles 100%!! It has all you would want in a musical--great music, touching story, magic, and phenomenal acting!! You will leave wanting to experience it again!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TXAGGIE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant show, a must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We've already seen it twice in London and my daughter's addicted to this musical.

My wife and daughter saw the show today whilst the boys went to the Intrepid museum. They both thought it was excellent, it exceeded their expectations and my wife thought it was better than the London West End production.

Specifically, they felt that the theatre is very intimate (more than London) meaning that you really feel connected with the actors and can see all their expressions.

Well done. Great show!

Helpful?
Thank DAJM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just as good as expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really liked the show. We had read the book earlier in our own language so that the kids would understand the plot. They love Roald Dahl. But the musical had sort of an extra twist that was not in the book. Good to know for those not fluent in English!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank K J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilda The Musical also viewed

 

Been to Matilda The Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing