We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of The Highlander NYC - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Highlander NYC
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had a couple of drinks here after reading reviews on Infatuation web and was impressed with service, ambience and the menu. We walked past it a couple of days later and got a wave and smiles. Decided to try if for dinner at around 10oclock after a few margaritas at Empellon. We had had the sausage roll starter-totally delicious, beef Wellington-generous and satisfying and the shrimp toast and kedgeree. One of the best meals we hd in NYC. Lovely service and divine red wine. Dining room is separate from general bar area but has candles and great ambience. Not pretentious and very well thought out with the references to Scotland. The music was excellent too. People were pouring through the door at 11. Absolutely recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZfoodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent bar”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were taken to this bar by friends when we were on honeymoon last year and it became my husband's favourite bar we visited in New York . this summer we returned twice in a few days as it has such a lovely atmosphere in West Village . it also serves Belhaven best beer... A great beer. I stuck with the Dolin's extra dry martinis neat on the rocks.. A really refreshing drink. great bar , great service..I know we will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Small Pub in the Big City”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Liiked - location, menu, taste, brewed beers
Disliked - size of hamburger (compared to price), service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SnowGlobeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty and comfortable small pub feel”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Here on business and our consultant recommended this place. Menu seemed limited but maybe it was because I was so hungry. We got drinks and appetizers for the four of us. The menu definitely has the Scottish slant. The salmon was tasty and unfortunately came to an end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DE_Auditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Free Whiskey Tasting !!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a good steak in manhatten , and the manager of our hotel suggested a scottish steakhouse a few blocks away. the atmosphere was quaint like a bar and grill in scotland. we asked to be seated in the back resturaunt and ordered food with a charming waitress with a cute scottish accent . then by our delight there was a whiskey tasting class going on right next to us ! the teacher was VERY informed and VERY into his "whisk-Hesse" (whiskeys) so wee enjoyed the lecture along with our meal ,we asked our waitress if we could sample some of the "whisk-Hesse" ,but wasn't sure if it was a group of people that paid a certain price and tase a bunch of wines and sirits , but it was free! and the "Whick-Hesse" were flowing , the teacher had a map of scotland and was pointing out all the different places for the "whisk-Hesse" . about the food it was great and very reasonable for new york city - the spinich dip was fantastic - the soup was a little salty - but the steak - the steak...Yummy just great - the place was very warm and friendly and would go back again and again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barondelafalaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highlander NYC also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing