We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighful and Delicious”
Review of Courgette - CLOSED

Courgette
Price range: $30 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 7th avenue
Description: TEMPORARY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION.Classical, Northern-European technique meets farm-to-table New American at Courgette Restaurant in Midtown West. Estonian-born, Michelin-starred Executive Chef Andrey Korobyak masterminds the visually-stunning, affordable menu and places a premium on sustainable, local ingredients - the ideal fare for happy hours, intimate dinners or impressive business lunches. The restaurant has already earned the celebrity stamp of approval from such notables as John Stamos, Annie Lennox, Anthony Mackie and Michael Rapaport.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delighful and Delicious”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The service is extremely friendly and efficient, and the setting is quite chic. The cuisine is as trendy as it is fresh and creative, and this restaurant really delivers value for money. We found all of our meals exceptionally tasty and beautifully presented, and after a splendid dinner returned for lunch the following day and were not disappointed. The atmosphere is modern yet intimate, and the menu and wine selections very comprehensive. This will definitely be our go-to place when visiting NYC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY-LON-PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rartian, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cozy spot for good cuisine”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a classy little place with a friendly atmosphere and well prepared food. We had dinner here and it was a very relaxed and enjoyable meal. The halibut and the duck were quite good, as was dessert - apricot tart and home made ice cream. Our server was helpful and attentive. The place got crowded but we did not feel rushed. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Reasonably-priced Lunch Prix Fixe, but...”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The best part about Courgette at lunch is the reasonably priced prix-fixe lunch - USD19 for two courses - pretty reasonable for a Midtown restaurant. I had the beetroot salad and the steamed salmon. The salad, which took some time (too long) to be served, was good but unremarkable. It could have done with a little crunch. The portion was reasonable. The salmon was okay - with the fish nicely cooked. My quibble was with the vegetables. The mange-tout were not prepared properly (the stringy and sharp parts were not removed) and were too tough to eat. The sprouts were under cooked. The service was problematic. The waitress had no idea what a hanger steak was and had to go off to ask. When she came back, her reply - "it's a skirt steak" - did not help my companion.The salads took too much time to arrive. An incorrect bill was delivered, charging us for twice the right amount. One good point: servers replenished our water with regularity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank areopagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose this as a last minute "backup" to our first choices because it was so close to our hotel so we didn't have high expectations. Perhaps we should have. The service was excellent (the Maitre D picked up on our desire to move to a different table and reseated us without us saying anything), the prices were reasonable (for NYC), the food was very good (try the cheese plate...it was outstanding), they have a great wine selection and a vibrant but not overwhelming atmosphere. This will be on my first choice list when I return to the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Innovative dishes, great tastes”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Delicious and creative food with wonderful presentation. Gathered here with a group of eight for a pre-theater dinner, and all of us were impressed. My steak tartare appetizer was amazing and everyone couldn't get over the presentation of the salmon appetizer. While everyone was pleased with their own selections, there was an awful lot of sampling off each others' plates.

The post-industrial decor created a nice atmosphere, and we were seated far enough from the bar that there wasn't a noise issue.

Pricing was quite reasonable by NY standards, and the drinks were made with a rather generous pour.

Our wait staff was friendly, but we had told them we had a 8pm curtain and yet it still took prompting to get the bill processed to get out the door.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABCWorldVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courgette also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing