We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prix Fixe Lunch a Hit”
Review of Benares

Benares
Reserve with OpenTable
Benares is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,527 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Prix Fixe Lunch a Hit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our waiter recommended the tandoori platter from among the lunch prix fixe selections. I am grateful. It was excellent. My colleague and I both agreed. By New York City standards, a great bargain. My wife had earlier tried Benares with some of her friends and they all liked the restaurant, too. May success come to this venture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

very nice restaurant with excellent flavours. the service was great and everything tasted great. it was a nice suggestion from other trip advisor travellers.
we tried three different kinds of chicken and all had their own distinctive taste.
interresting dessert!
the only disadvantage is that it's a bit pricey!

Helpful?
1 Thank ThanasisRX
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, good value.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Since it opened, I have visited Benares almost once per week. The food is fresh and tasty and spicy dishes are spicy but milder ones are delicious as well. I like the samosas and the Chicken Saag. The pakoras to start are great too.

Service is consistent and attentive. Decor and cleanliness are certainly above average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valkyzyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The lunch prix fix is really great with the lowest salt content I have experienced. You can ask them to vary the hot spice. This is a new restaurant in the Tribeca area. Staff is friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make you happy. Inside the sound is subdued and the lighting is slightly dimmed. It is the type of place you take a date to impress without the big price. Or you can eat lunch here and have an excellent meal. The food reminded me of what I ate when I visited Mumbai.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Enriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food, very healthy”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. The food is healthy and fresh. Great music and atmosphere. Nice people. Clean. A place to come back to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tnyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benares also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing