We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Ethos Gallery 51

Ethos Gallery 51
Reserve with OpenTable
Ethos Gallery 51 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,741 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
new york, ny
Level Contributor
253 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ordered a bunch of different appetizers and shared. Everything we had was yummy and fresh. The sampling was a great way to try different things. We would Definetly return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    76
    28
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you like fresh, well cooked fish (the greek way) and a polite but vivid service visit this restaurant. The prices are ok, the wine list is ok, the food is excellent!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CV_FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
365 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A touch of Greece on First Avenue on New York City.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We began with salad - one with beets, greens, and goat cheese. The other with feta, tomatoes, onion, green pepper and oregano. Both were large enough for two. We then had the salmon and Greek seafood. Good choices! Next, we were presented with three desserts - chocolate mousse, baklava and bread pudding. Delicious! I would recommend this restaurant to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Re27k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ethos Astonishes”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We all know you can find anything you want in New York, but it is exceptionally rare to find what you want at a price you can afford and enjoy the experience. Welcome to Ethos Gallery 51. The unassuming location, at 51st Street and First Avenue, belies a robust, sunny, whitewashed and Aegean blue decor. The staff does not know what to do for you, without the smarmy give-to-get attitude of just about every other Upper East Side restaurant. We threw my husband's 50th Birthday there, and his family are connoisseurs of seafood, having island origins, and usually insist it's not worth eating out. We had the astonishing octopus appetizers, and a mezze of traditional Greek spreads followed by snaper, branzino and salmon. The fish was like a postcard from the Mediterranean: freshness and olive oil. Wine selection was great,plenty of choices in the mid $25 - $45 range, and because my Better Half is somewhat of a dessert fanatic, the restaurant was kind enough to permit us to bring our own homemade cake. Not only did they not charge us a plating fee, they brought additional desserts of their own making. You can find coupons for this restaurant on restaurant.com, and they were gracious in accepting. As great as the food was, and it was easily one of the best seafood restos in the City, the service just makes the whole evening a keeper. Very comfortable seating too, and adequate space between the tables so there is a degree of privacy seldom seen (heard) about town. Our bill worked out to about $65 per person with tax, tip, wine and coffee, so I feel this resto offers incredible value. The Ancient Greek word ethos can mean habit, and eating here is one you will easily acquire. Our very highest recommendation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FearlessCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
657 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“TOO NOISY”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my second visit. I give them 5 stars for food. Service and design nice too. But so noisy even 6:30 on a Sunday night. I don't know if we can return. Gets pricy fast-fortunately, there are discount coupons on restaurant.com.

Starter--the mixed spreads and warm pita triangles are good--don't eat the lame bread that arrives on the table
A bottle of one of the cheaper ( $38 ) wines--a New Zealand sauvignon blanc was good.
We split two orders of swordfish-very good- and 4 orders of grilled aspagus-among the 4 of us. all good. Then complimentary dessert.

But where to sit--will they seat parties in the bar? Will that be quieter?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethos Gallery 51 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ethos Gallery 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing