We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great.”
Review of The Keg Room

The Keg Room
Ranked #344 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: The Keg Room is an up-scale casual American-Irish Bar and Restaurant located in New York City. Opened by Mary and Joe Carty on December 3rd, 2012. It is a welcoming and exciting place with beautiful Celtic decor. Its center rectangular island offers three of its sides to its patrons, becoming one of the largest bars in New York City (over 100 feet long.) With 48 beers on draft, 40 bottle beers, several rotating seasonal beers, an enjoyable delicious food menu and 25+ TV screens complemented with four large screen projectors. The Keg Room is an ideal place to hold your next group-event whether it's a fundraiser, birthday, retirement, holiday or corporate parties. The Keg Room is conveniently located in the heart of New York City (36th Street, between 6th and 5th Avenues.) If you are staying in New York City, there are five hotels on our street and several others within walking distance. If shopping brings you to the Big Apple, The Keg Room is only a block away from MACY'S, Lord & Taylor, and several others stores in Herald Square. For the sport and concert fans, the Madison Square Garden is located within walking distance (two blocks away from us). For a taste of New York, we are a short distance from The Empire State Building and Bryant Park Parking couldn't be any more convinient... Right Next Door To Us! Several other Parking Facilities in our immediate area.
Cherry Hill NJ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not great.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed across the street. We Wanted something quick. Wings beer, etc. Place looks nice and waiter was okay, but moved to bar after we ordered, the seats have backs and my wife and I moved. The bartender was a real azz. I was kind enough to say we were moving to this empty bar. It was 4:00 pm. Again empty! He Gave real shade. If he were cool, sure I would have ordered a drink or two more, we put order in and waiter was cool. Right away I closed out check and took care of him. The waiter seem to know bartender was stupid.
Food not that great at all. Never going back. Don't go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    225
    58
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but may get a lot better”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The beer selection is great and the build out is pretty nice. But you can tell they just opened. The menu had typo's, the waiter did not know a lot about the menu. He was very nice, and it looks like they are trying. But it is new, and feels like it. With some practice I can see this getting better. But for now they are out of practice. Very much bigger than it looks from the outside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jibbyjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“a little pot of gold”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent food, good prices, great atmosphere, friendly welcome, huge selection of beers, well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank welshginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“good atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food was okay.
very big new bar where the manager stalks around like John Cleese.
It was okay though as we went back twice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, beer, and food”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Doesn't look much from outside, but opens out into a huge well laid-out bar with tables st the rear. Staff are consistently friendly, helpful and there are plenty of them.
Wide range of beers and good food menus - all freshly cooked to order and seriously above average pub food.
I would recommend to anyone in the area.
TripAdvisor please note your map pin is way off - the bar is along W 36th, nearer the 6th Ave end

Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Room also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Keg Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing