We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning performance”
Review of Studio 54

Studio 54
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
TV and Movie Locations Tour with Official NBC Studios Tour
Ranked #155 of 1,112 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning performance”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I think I have seen Cabaret four times or so, but when I heard Alan Cumming was back as the emcee, I had to come back too, and lucky for me I had to be in NY on business. Pay for the floor seats at the tables, it is worth it. The obstructed view seats were all that I could get my hands on and I was a bit concerned but they were much better than watching it from the mezzanine, and there were only a few bits I had to crouch down to see. From the decadence and fun of the first half to the tense second act, I won't say more in case you don't know the story, but no matter how many times I see it apparently, it never fails to move me. Don't miss it while Cumming is still there, he is perfection. (Sidenote - apparently not for the easily offended. The five elderly midwestern tourists adjacent to me were apparently quite upset that Cumming showed his "bottom" and did not come back for the second act. Bless their hearts, not sure what they thought they were going to see.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank nolazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    46
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“They finally let me into Studio 54!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Believe me, I'd never have gotten into 54 in the days when Truman and Andy hung out there.
What a treat to see it as the Kit Kat Klub, though, and to enjoy the pretense of being just another degenerate visiting a sleazy cabaret! I have to disagree with another reviewer about Michelle Williams. Sally Bowles is described in the book as barely being able to sing or dance; Liza Minelli was completely miscast in the role. Michelle Williams brought a fragility to Sally, and a level of desperation that I'd not seen before, and her tiny stature emphasized that. Freulein Schmidt and Herr Schulz were both wonderful, showing the depth of emotion and hope that middle-aged romance can bring. At first I thought that Alan Cummings started out a bit slowly, and then realized that he had to have somewhere to build to during the performance. He couldn't come out swinging from the first moment, and where he got to by the end was breath-taking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lioncloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant Alan Cummings !”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

What can I say other than Alan Cummings was superb as emcee - sadly show slightly let down by Michelle Williams who does not portray Sally Bowles well and whose voice is distinctly lacking for the final Cabaret song. But worth it to see AC in full flood -even better than his portrayal of Eli Gold in The Good Wife !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottishLWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All is Beautiful in The Kit Kat Club!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous experience to see Cabaret on Broadway while in New York. Alan Cummings was born to this part. It is hard to imagine anybody carrying the role off so well. Overall the show was excellently produced and directed. The theatre itself was very ornate and added to the decadence. Drinks were a little pricey but you could take them to your seats. We sat on the mezzanine which offered great views. The seated tables in The Kit Kat Club must have been truly spectacular. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“My favorite this visit to NY”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The show was captivating from before it began with the waitstaff in role to the very last note. I was taken with Michelle Williams. She has a presence that evoked other female leads from that era for me like Hepburn or Channing. I was thrilled to get tickets and I am ready to see it again if it keeps playing. Alan Cumming is absolutely the bomb. What a way to begin my theatre filled weekend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio 54 also viewed

 

Been to Studio 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing