We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty lunch on vacation...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massawa

Massawa
Ranked #2,926 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Massawa is a family owned business serving fine Eritrean and Ethiopian food. We are conveniently located near Columbia University. Massawa was one of the very first Ethiopian restaurants in the Northeast, and has enjoyed a large following of patrons since its opening in 1988. Everything we serve is natural, fresh, and of the highest quality. We offer exotic dishes, serving everything from spicy to mild flavors, and vegetables to fish, to meat. While we’re known for our hearty vegan and vegetarian fare, we also serve fish, beef, lamb, chicken, and shrimp. We truly have something for everyone. And if you prefer your dishes on the mild side, we can customize any dish to the exact spice level that you wish.Ethiopian food and culture lends itself to sharing, so many of our dishes are served on large platters accompanied by our fluffy injera bread. Our restaurant is perfect for both an intimate dinner date or for a large family dinner. Make sure to order a glass of our honey wine or an Ethiopian beer. Coffee lovers should try our traditional Ethiopian coffee, bunna.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch on vacation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My fiance and I were on vacation in NYC and this was a great little spot to stop and have a unique lunch. Meal was delicious and service was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fragglefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Meet Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had a very enjoyable meal at this restaurant that is close to Columbia University. A comfortable environment with an attentive staff made for a great evening. Food is delicious, served in traditional Ethiopian style. Was easily able to eat vegan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ethopian Cusine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Vegetarian platter was had average taste , The service and hospitality was excellent . One can enjoy the food at least once if looking for different taste with no oil and spice .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bharat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious First Experience with Ethiopian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The food was simply delicious and the atmosphere was wonderful. They only had one server, but the food came on time and it was wonderful. Definitely a wonderful way to experience Ethiopian food.

Helpful?
Thank TravelingAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Eritrean/Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

During our NYC holiday we accidently came by the Massawa on Amsterdam Ave. Having never eaten Eritrean or Ethiopian before, we were attracted by the fine smell. Skimming the menu outside of the restaurant we quickly decided that we had to try this.

Our food (the vegetarian combo) was served quickly, the restaurant not beeing very crowded. The combo consisted of different dishes which were served along with pancake-like or naan-like bread that serve as "cutleries". So you pick up the dishes with a piece of that bread in your and and eat it. The three dishes of the vegetarian combo were a pureed chick peas dish, a potato-carrot dish, and a collard greens dish. All dishes were delicious with just the right amount of spiciness. The vegetables seemed fresh to us and the food was not greasy at all.

Altogether, we liked the Massawa food a lot and we regret that we don't have a place like that back home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fernmeldeturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahel T, Manager at Massawa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this kind review of our restaurant. I'm glad you "accidentally" stumbled upon us and enjoyed all we had to offer! I look forward to sharing this with the rest of our team—I'm sure they'll be just as excited to see this as I was. We hope to welcome you back next time you're in the city. Take care.

All the best,

Rahel T., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massawa also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Massawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing