We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not the Marriott Not even close”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Ranked #112 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is not the Marriott Not even close”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been waiting for this Hotel to be done for a very long time, Visit this hotel for the first time this weekend the hotel is brand new so i said to myself great not you average hotel and it's a Marriott how can you go wrong and I only stay in the Marriott hotel.
Let's Start with The CELL PHONE don't work in this hotel can you believe that 2013 and your phone don't work while you in your room so if you come for business stay somewhere else.
They told me there is a Roof top bar so i did go up Nice area nice Bar but totally out of product The bartender if you can call that girl a bartender did not have any knowledge how to make drinks and was totally cover with sweat , clear evidence how you can take a nice roof top and destroyed that with bad management.
One of the main reason i stay in the Marriott is there bed I always sleep good on their bed but NOT this so call Marriott the bed was hard not like other Marriott i stayed in.
The Staff was nice but not the normal people you expect in the Marriott hotel they more fit to work in a Deli then in Hotel, Overall very disappointed never coming back to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more and you get more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zack a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPS1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
zack a Thank you for providing us with feedback on your most recent stay. We apologize that we did not meet your needs. We do take pride in our facility and work hard to satisfy our guests through our customer service. Please feel free to contact me directly at mark.thomson@marriott.com if your travel plans bring you back to NYC and I will personally look after all of your accommodation requests.

Best Regards,
Mark Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    488
    99
    20
    14
See reviews for
391
369
85
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First visit with family to New York.
This hotel was very clean. Staff very friendly. Rooms were a good size (compared to what I've read for New York).
Very quiet as well.
Breakfast was crowded but not the fault of the hotel. Staff is very accommodating.
Rooftop restaurant was not open in the evenings which was disappointing.
Close to subways.
Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here one night in June and had a great experience. The hotel is fairly centrally located and if you are a city-walker than everything is in walking distance. Otherwise the subways are close by and very easy to find. The train station is across the street and so if you come in from Newark it is very easy to get back. I got the late checkout and champagne room service and it was well worth the $50 or so extra. The hotel is nice and new and is in very good shape. The elevators are slow but this is expected in such a tall narrow building. The breakfast buffet was sufficient but the seating area is a little cramped if the patio isn't open. The staff was excellent and not an exaggerated excellent but the type of friendly and helpful staff you'd expect. The roof top patio view cannot be missed. The safe in the room even fit my over-sized laptop work laptop so the trip was worry-free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPS1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Jim W thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel. We agree that the roof top view is amazing and definitely one that can not be missed. Our staff prides themselves on service so we are glad they were able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Mark Thomson
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We appreciated the location and the helpfull team. We especially would like to thank Roudy F. who took care about our breakfeast with professionalism and kindness. We would stay again in this hotel with great pleasure

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPS1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Fuchsm thank you for the great review of our hotel - we are glad that Roudy and the breakfast team were able to assist you in the morning and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!

Best Regards.
Mark Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter & a friend with her daughter. The location was good if you travel to NYC by train. Penn Station is just a few blocks away. The Positives: the lobby & common areas are kept clean as well as the rooms. I am very picky and did not have a difficult time with the cleanliness of our room. Air conditioner unit in the room worked well. It was extremely hot when we were in the city, but we were able to keep the room nice and cool.
Continental breakfast was decent.
Front desk employees were very nice and helpful with directions. Rooftop seating and bar were nice!

Things that could improve:
The lobby, elevators and common areas were very warm...Granted the weather was severe (high 90's) there wasn't enough relief in main areas of hotel -compared to walking into other places with air during the same time frame.

The rooms were really small
Had to ask a few times for extra towels
Continental breakfast ends a bit early - especially if there are four girls getting ready with 1 bathroom - might want to go til at least 10
Elevators are very slow, sometimes taking up to 10- or more minutes to get an elevator
** you book with expedia, be cautious because they can give your room away if you are late for your check in. We took a train that was very late...I called at 8 pm and they told me that I would have to keep calling until we arrived because they didn't have to keep the reservation considering we were not checked in and the hotel was at full capacity. If someone else walked in they could book that room to "ensure" the reservation but ours was through a 3 party...expedia.
I will say that expedia however, assured me I would not have a problem and called the hotel directly. It was a bit unnerving as I had to keep making calls through out the train ride to the city.

Last thought...if you don't ask they don't offer...The front desk staff have resources such as free maps and other information that we saw other people getting - but you have to ask. We didn't know that and wish we knew before the day we were leaving. It be nice if they could offer it to customers at check in.

Overall a good place to stay -

Room Tip: we had no view - but the roof top area is nice and has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crufo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As long time loyal Marriott guest, I had booked my family of 5 in the Marriott downtown. At the last minute a room opened up here as we wanted to be closer to Times Square for my 11 and 9 year old boys along with our guest visiting from Germany for the first time. Plus anytime you can get one meal for free anywhere let alone NYC is a bonus with 2 growing boys. I most say I was more than surprised with the accommodations. Upon arrival Luis at the front desk upgraded us to a bigger room on 23rd floor, which is key as it is just a short flight up to the roof top bar that has spectacular views of downtown, and the Hudson. Drinks are reasonably priced up there too which is nice. Room was spacious, and clean and able to sleep all 5 of us comfortably, 1 kid was on the floor sleeping on the pullout couches cushions but he's used to it and thinks its cool.

Down side, long wait for the elevator on a Sunday morning heading to the aforementioned free breakfast.

The hotel is 10 minute walk to Times Square and 20 minutes to Pier 84 (intrepid and circle line). As an aside i Highly recommend purchasing the NYC Pass online in advance. Worth it and you end up doing stuff you normally wouldn't because it was already included.

Room Tip: Ask for 22nd or 23rd floor so you can walk to the roof bar. South facing room would be preferable. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were traveling with our children and grandchildren to attend a Broadway show for a birthday celebration. We needed a place close to the train station and the theater and we chose Fairfield Inn & Suites at Penn Station based on its location and the reviews. We were not disappointed. We were in walking distance, even with a 4 & 5 years old to the theater and the High Line. The Roof Top bar was a nice respite from the crowded city streets. Breakfast room was clean and well stocked and the rooms were small but very nice; we were lucky to get great view. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. If I need to return to this locale, I will certainly keep this hotel high on my list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phytowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 468 in New York City
814 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#208 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
772 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Address: 325 W 33rd St, New York City, NY 10001-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station is located off W 33rd street just one-block away from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The location is convenient for visits to Macy's, Herald Square, the Javits Center, the Empire State Building, and The High Line Park. We offer complimentary WiFi, a hot breakfast buffet, as well as modern guest rooms and spacious suites that feature plush Marriott bedding, a flat-screen HDTV, and work desk. The suites offer additional space as well as a couch and pantry that include a microwave and mini-fridge. Unwind after a busy day of exploring the city that never sleeps in one of the city-view rooms or suites and enjoy some of the most scenic views of New York City. Our hotel includes an outdoor patio, a seasonal roof-top bar, and a 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing